RSS feeds from

England Development Programme news RSS

Australia lift Under-19 World Cup

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Josh Hazlewood

Josh Hazlewood breaks through en route to 4-30 that secured a 25-run win over Pakistan in the Under-19 World Cup final

Australia won the Under-19 World Cup for the third time thanks to a 25-run victory over Pakistan at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln, New Zealand.

Right-arm paceman Josh Hazlewood’s 4-30 and left-arm spinner Luke Doran’s 3-32 enabled Australia to defend 207 for nine as Pakistan were dismissed in 46.4 overs.

The victory follows up their triumphs at home in 1987-88 and in New Zealand in 2001-02.

Asked to bat first, Australia slipped to 23 for three as seamer Fayyaz Butt struck twice.

Alex Keath and Jason Floros rebuilt with 25 and 35 respectively, and the rest of the middle order continued the recovery featuring 44 from Kane Richardson and 37 from Tim Armstrong.

Butt’s fellow opening bowler Sarmad Bhatti did the bulk of the damage for Pakistan with 3-33 from eight overs.

In reply, opener Babar Azam and number three Ahmed Shehzad added 54 en route 28 and 36 respectively.

However, Hazlewood, whose four wickets came in 8.4 overs, and Doran, who bowled a full quota of 10, struck at regular intervals throughout Pakistan’s run-chase.

Off-spinner Floros returned 1-19 in eight economical overs and, although Pakistan captain Azeem Ghumman mustered 41, Australia’s breakthroughs proved crucial.

Fittingly, Hazlewood sealed victory when he had number 10 Raza Hasan caught behind.

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move