RSS feeds from

England Development Programme news RSS

Under-19 Test squad named

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Hamza Riazuddin

Hamza Riazuddin will capatin England in the Friends Provident Under-19 series

The ECB has announced that the following players have been selected for the England Under-19 squad to play Bangladesh Under-19s in the Friends Provident Under-19 series:

Scott Borthwick (Durham)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Nathan Buck (Leicestershire)
Josh Cobb (Leicestershire, first Test only)
Jaik Mickleburgh (Essex)
Sam Northeast (Kent)
Thomas Poynton (Derbyshire, wicketkeeper)
Azeem Rafiq (Yorkshire)
Hamza Riazuddin (Hampshire, captain)
James Taylor (Leicestershire, first Test only)
James Vince (Hampshire)
Luke Wells (Sussex)
David Willey (Northants, second Test only)
Chris Wood (Hampshire)


July 6-9: 1st Test, Scarborough CC
July 12-15: 2nd Test, County Ground, Derby

July 18: 1st ODI, Grace Road, Leicester
July 19: 2nd ODI, Grace Road, Leicester
July 21: 3rd ODI, County Ground, Northampton
July 23: 4th ODI, County Ground, Hove – live on Sky Sports
July 24: 5th ODI, County Ground, Hove (day/night) – live on Sky Sports

July 28: 1st Twenty20, Sleaford CC, Lincolnshire
July 29: 2nd Twenty20, Sleaford CC, Lincolnshire

Selection Committee:

John Abrahams (England player development manager)
Andy Pick (England U19 coach)
James Whitaker (England selector)

The players selected for the first Test are to report for pre-test preparation on the evening of Wednesday 1 July to the National Cricket Performance Centre, Loughborough, before heading to Scarborough by coach on the afternoon of Saturday 4 July.

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire) and Joseph Buttler (Somerset) were named in the original squad but removed in order to be available to their counties.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move