RSS feeds from

England Performance Programme news RSS

England Performance Programme squads 2009-10

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

The ECB announced squads for an enhanced England Performance Programme beginning in November 2009, involving a total of 41 players divided into squads according to their stages of development.

As part of the new programme, players have been categorised into three different groups: A, B or C.

A-graded players are those perceived to be closest to graduating into the England team and who have been part of the Programme and Lions teams in recent years.

B group players are those with experience of first-class cricket and perceived to be one to three years away from the England team.

C group players are likely to be a little younger with less first-class county experience, many of whom have been part of the ECB Elite Player Development programme.

A group of young fast bowlers selected as part of the programme will also spend time at a conditioning camp in Florida and at the MRF fast bowling camp in Chennai under the guidance of Australia legend Dennis Lillee.

A Players

Mark Davies (Durham)
Amjad Khan (Kent)
Stephen Moore (Lancashire)
Michael Carberry (Hampshire)

B Players

Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Andrew Gale (Yorkshire)
Rory Hamilton-Brown (Sussex)
Chris Jordan (Surrey)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset) - added on November 3
Chris Nash* (Sussex)
Joe Sayers (Yorkshire)
Ajmal Shahzad (Yorkshire)
James Taylor (Leicestershire)
David Wainwright (Yorkshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

*Chris Nash returned home from South Africa early after fracturing a thumb during training.

C Players

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Vikram Banerjee (Gloucestershire)
Keith Barker (Warwickshire)
William Beer (Sussex)
Alex Blake (Kent)
Andy Carter (Nottinghamshire)
Liam Dawson (Hampshire)
Luke Fletcher (Nottinghamshire)
Billy Godleman (Essex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Richard Johnson (Warwickshire)
Richard Jones (Worcestershire)
Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)
Jake Mickleburgh (Essex)
Sam Northeast (Kent)
Ollie Rayner (Sussex)
Ian Saxelby (Gloucestershire)
John Simpson (Middlesex)
Tom Smith (Middlesex)
Max Waller (Somerset)
Adam Wheater (Essex)
David Willey (Northamptonshire)

Fast Bowling Programme

Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
David Griffiths (Hampshire)
James Harris (Glamorgan)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)

National Cricket Performance Centre

National Cricket Performance Centre

The state-of-the-art facility is much more than just a training centre for the England Performance Programme players as it provides an all-year-round facility to benefit cricket as a whole