RSS feeds from

England Performance Programme news RSS

Brooks and Mills added to EPP squad

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Jack Brooks

Jack Brooks expressed his delight after being called into the England Performance Programme squad. "It's going to be an exciting winter," he said

Seamers Jack Brooks and Tymal Mills have been called into the 2011-12 England Performance Programme squad.

Warwickshire all-rounder Chris Woakes was withdrawn from the senior side’s tour of India yesterday after suffering a left quadriceps strain and will follow a programme of rest and recovery in November and December rather than joining the EPP squad in Loughborough and South Africa; while Yorkshire paceman Ajmal Shahzad requires an ankle operation and will not be able to take his spot in the squad.

Brooks, a regular wicket-taker for Northamptonshire this summer before a back injury ruled him out of the closing weeks of the campaign, has therefore been summoned, together with teenage Essex left-armer Mills, who is promoted from the group of potential EPP players.

A delighted Brooks said: “I was elated when they gave me the call. I’m absolutely over the moon.

"I thought my chance had gone when I got injured over the last six weeks of the season, but my performances before that were good enough to get me selected.

“It’s going to be an exciting winter ahead now, and I can’t wait to get started. I will look to work on my fitness during the programme and I can’t wait to learn new skills from the coaches.

"It will be good to work with other cricketers who are also striving to break through into the international game.”

The players involved with the EPP will undertake a three-week training programme at the National Cricket Performance Centre in Loughborough next month.

Following this, the fast bowlers will head to a training camp in Potchefstroom, South Africa, while the batsmen, spin bowlers and wicketkeepers will be based in India.

Revised England Performance Programme squad

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Scott Borthwick (Durham)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Jack Brooks (Northamptonshire)
Nathan Buck (Leicestershire)
Jos Buttler (Somerset)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
James Harris (Glamorgan)
Simon Kerrigan (Lancashire)
Tom Maynard (Surrey)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
Tymal Mills (Essex)
Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
James Taylor (Leicestershire)
James Vince (Hampshire)