RSS feeds from

England Performance Programme news RSS

Parsons ups the pace

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
David Parsons

David Parsons is keen to assess the most promising players in the country

The ECB National Cricket Performance Centre will host a pace and spin bowling event for some of the most talented young players in the country next month.

A total of 62 players have been invited to Loughborough from June 23-27, when they will compete against each other in a series of match-based scenarios.

The event will give the players the chance to showcase their ability with the ball, as well as work on their game against pace and spin bowling.

England Under-19 and Middlesex batsman Billy Godleman, Yorkshire pace bowler James Lee, Lancashire leg-spinner Simon Marshall and Sussex and England Under-19 wicketkeeper Ben Brown are among those asked to attend.

ECB performance director David Parsons, the driving force behind two specialist spin programmes in the last two years, was keen to expand the event to assess the most promising seamers in England.

He said: “The programme will enable us to compare the relative playing capabilities of a pool of emerging young cricketers, profile the players in order to inform our development programmes and offer coaching support regarding the bowling of pace and spin and the playing of pace and spin bowling.

“The players themselves will develop an enhanced understanding of some of the key performance issues to be considered in bowling and batting or keeping against pace and spin.”

Graham Gooch, England’s leading Test run-scorer, ECB fast bowling coach Kevin Shine and former England all-rounder Phil DeFreitas, among others, will be on hand to pass on their experience and advice.

The first half of the week will focus on pace bowling, with spin the focus for the second half of the week.

Invited Players


Dan Redfern (Derbyshire)
Billy Godleman (Middlesex)
Sam Northeast (Kent)
Matt Machan (Sussex)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
James Taylor (Leicestershire)
Joe Sayers (Yorkshire)
Alex Wakely (Northamptonshire)
Varun Chopra (Essex)
Scott Borthwick (Durham)
Ben Harmison (Durham)
Mark Nelson (Northamptonshire)
Andrew Gale (Yorkshire)
Mark Stoneman (Durham)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Goodman (Kent)
Tom Maynard (Glamorgan)
Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)
Tom Westley (Essex)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Allinson (Yorkshire)


Ben Brown (Sussex)
Adam Wheater (Essex)
Tom Poynton (Derbyshire)
Michael Bates (Hampshire)
Richard Johnson (Warwickshire)

Pace Bowlers

Luke Fletcher (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Liddle (Sussex)
Oliver Hannon-Dolby (Yorkshire)
Luke Evans (Durham)
Mehraj Ahmed (Worcestershire)
Danny Evans (Middlesex)
James Lee (Yorkshire)
Mark Turner (Somerset)
Stuart Meaker (Surrey)
James Iles (Kent)
Bud Bailey (Northamptonshire)
Jade Dernbach (Surrey)
Maurice Chambers (Essex)
Richard Jones (Worcestershire)
Merv Westfield (Essex)
Adam Shepard (Nottinghamshire)
Ian Saxelby (Nottinghamshire)
Matthew Dunn (Surrey)

Spin Bowlers

Vikram Banerjee (Gloucestershire)
David Wainwright (Yorkshire)
Simon Marshall (Lancashire)
Liam Dawson (Hampshire)
Graeme White (Northamptonshire)
Danny Briggs (Hampshire)
Mark Lawson (Yorkshire)
Chris Morgan (Hampshire)
Michael Munday (Somerset)
Tom Smith (Sussex)
Matthew Gitsham (Gloucestershire)
Tom Winslade (Surrey)
Ollie Rayner (Sussex)
Moneeb Iqbal (Durham)
Will Beer (Sussex)
Azeem Rafiq (Yorkshire)
Scott Borthwick (Durham)


Batting: Graham Gooch, David Houghton, John Abrahams
Pace Bowling: Kevin Shine, Andy Pick, Phil DeFreitas, Mike Hendrick
Spin Bowling: Jack Birkenshaw, John Childs
Wicketkeeping: Bruce French