RSS feeds from

England Performance Programme news RSS

Spinners out to impress

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160
Adil Rashid

Adil Rashid is among those invited to the three-day event in Loughborough © Getty Images

England’s finest young spinners will get the chance to showcase their talents at a specially arranged spin event later this month.

On the day that slow left-armer Monty Panesar took 6-137 to help England win the third npower Test against West Indies and seal the series, the ECB announced that it is holding a three-day programme at the National Cricket Centre in Loughborough from June 25-27.

The success of a similar event at Derby last year convinced ECB spin coach David Parsons to organise another get-together for the best young slow bowlers in the country.

Yorkshire leg-spinners Adil Rashid and Mark Lawson, Northamptonshire’s Graeme White and Gloucestershire’s Vikram Bannerjee - both slow left-armers - are among the 12 young bowlers invited.

Parsons is hoping to use the programme, which will consist of various game-based situations, to assess the technique and temperament of those involved.

He is also keen to see how players have progressed since last year’s two-day event, which saw Ashley Giles and Andy Flower offering expert advice on and off the field to both batsmen and bowlers.

“The programme will enable us to compare the relative playing capabilities of a pool of emerging young cricketers, profile the players in order to inform our development programmes and offer coaching support regarding the bowling of spin and the playing of spin bowling,” said Parsons.

“The players themselves will develop an enhanced understanding of some of the tactical and technical issues to be considered in bowling and batting or keeping against spin.”

Invited Players


Adil Rashid (Yorkshire) Right-arm wrist spin
Mark Lawson (Yorkshire) RWS
Mike Munday (Somerst) RWS
Moneeb Iqbal (Durham) RWS
Graeme White (Northamptonshire) Slow left-arm
Chris Morgan (Hampshire) SLA
Vikram Banerjee (Gloucestershire) SLA
David Wainwright (Yorkshire) SLA
Tom Winslade (Surrey) Right-arm off-spin
Azeem Rafiq (Yorkshire) ROS
Ollie Rayner (Sussex) ROS
Sachin Vaja (Essex) ROS


Ben Brown (Sussex)
Paul Dixey (Kent)
Billy Godleman (Middlesex)
Alex Wakely (Northamptonshire)
Rory Hamilton-Brown (Surrey)
Ben Wright (Glamorgan)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
Varun Chopra (Essex)
Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)
Andrew Gale (Yorkshire)
Joe Sayers (Yorkshire)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Eion Morgan (Middlesex)
Karl Brown (Lancashire)