England quintet up for ICC gongs

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Graeme Swann

Graeme Swann will be hoping to cap an excellent period by scooping the ICC Test Player of the Year award this October

England players Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Steven Finn, Tim Bresnan and Eoin Morgan are in the running for gongs in the LG International Cricket Council awards.

Swann, who has taken 57 Test wickets at an average of 25.17 in between August 24 2009 and August 10 2010, is in the running for the coveted Test Player of the Year award, along with Anderson.

Meanwhile, Finn, Bresnan and Morgan have been nominated in the category of Emerging Player of the Year.

Morgan is also in the running for the Twenty20 Performance of the Year award for his blistering 45-ball 85 against South Africa in November at Johannesburg.

Katherine Brunt and Lydia Greenway are among the selected candidates who will be hoping to secure the Women’s Cricketer of the Year title.

However, there are no England representatives in the Cricketer of the Year and ODI Player of the Year long-lists, despite their impressive performances in all forms of the game.

India trio Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag feature prominently in all three major categories, along with Hashim Amla and Jacques Kallis from South Africa, Australia’s Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger from Australia and former Sri Lanka skipper Mahela Jayawardene.

This year sees the debut of the LG People’s Choice Award, in which fans can vote for their favourite player from a shortlist of five, which will be revealed on August 23. Anyone can vote before the deadline on September 10, by visiting www.icc-cricket.com.

The long-lists of nominations were made by a five-man ICC selection panel, consisting of former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, Angus Fraser, Matthew Hayden, Ravi Shastri and Duncan Fletcher.

The awards ceremony will take place in Bangalore, India on October 6.

Individual awards

Cricketer of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Morne Morkel (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Shane Watson (Aus)

Test Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
James Anderson (Eng)
Mohammad Asif (Pak)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tamim Iqbal (BD)
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Simon Katich (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)

ODI Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tillekeratne Dilshan (SL)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Cameron White (Aus)

Emerging Player of the Year
Mohammad Aamer (Pak)
Umar Akmal (Pak)
Tim Bresnan (Eng)
Steven Finn (Eng)
Shafiul Islam (BD)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
Angelo Mathews (SL)
Eoin Morgan (Eng)
Pragyan Ojha (Ind)
Tim Paine (Aus)
Wayne Parnell (SA)
Kemar Roach (WI)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Paul Stirling (Ire)
David Warner (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year
Ashish Bagai (Can)
Richie Berrington (Scot)
Muddassar Bukhari (Scot)
Tom Cooper (Neth)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Neth)
Trent Johnston (Ire)
Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
Mohammad Shahzad (Afg)
Samiullah Shenwari (Afg)
Paul Stirling (Ire)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year
Suleiman Benn (WI) – 4-2-6-4 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, Feb 28 2010
Deandra Dottin (WI Women) – 112 not out (45b, 7x4, 9x6) v South Africa Women, Basseterra, May 5 2010
Chris Gayle (WI) – 98 (66b, 5x4, 7x6) v India, Bridgetown, May 9 2010
Michael Hussey (Aus) – 60 not out (24b, 3x4, 5x6) v Pakistan, St Lucia, May 14 2010
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) – 100 (64b, 10x4 4x6) v Zimbabwe, Guyana, May 3 2010
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) – 98 not out (56b 9x4, 4x6) v West Indies, Bridgetown, May 7 2010
Nuwan Kulasekera (SL) – 3-1-4-3 v New Zealand, Lauderhill, May 23 2010
Ryan McLaren (Aus) – 3-0-19-5 v West Indies, North Stand, May 19 2010
Brendon McCullum (NZ) – 116 not out (56b, 12x4, 8x6) v Australia, Christchurch, Feb 28 2010
Eoin Morgan (Eng) – 85 not out (45b, 7x4, 5x6) v South Africa, Johannesburg, Nov 13 2009
Nehemiah Odhiambo (Zim) – 4-0-20-5 v Scotland, Nairobi, Feb 4 2010
Ellyse Perry (Aus Women) – 4-0-18-3 v New Zealand Women, Barbados, May 16 2010
Suresh Raina (Ind) – 101 (60b, 9x4, 5x6) v South Africa, St Lucia, May 2 2010
Darren Sammy (WI) – 3.5-0-26-5 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, Feb 28 2010

Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Suzie Bates (NZ)
Nicola Browne (NZ)
Katherine Brunt (Eng)
Sophie Devine (NZ)
Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Lydia Greenway (Eng)
Sarah McGlashan (NZ)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Ellyse Perry (Aus)
Laura Poulton (Aus)
Mithali Raj (Ind)
Gouher Sultana (Ind)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Umpire of the Year
Billy Bowden
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Asoka de Silva
Billy Doctrove
Marais Erasmus
Ian Gould
Tony Hill
Daryl Harper
Rudi Koertzen
Asad Rauf
Simon Taufel
Rod Tucker

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move