Cook and Trott up for top ICC award

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Alastair Cook & Jonathan Trott

Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott are both in the running for the ICC's prestigious Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year awards

England batsmen Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott will compete for the honour of Cricketer of the Year at the International Cricket Council awards.

They are in the running to lift the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy alongside Indian Sachin Tendulkar, last year’s winner, and South Africa’s Hashim Amla after the ICC long-lists were trimmed today.

Three England players feature on the four-strong shortlist for the Test Player of the Year, with Cook, Trott and James Anderson joined by South African Jacques Kallis.

Trott is one of five players nominated for the LG People’s Choice award - voted for by the public - while England’s success over the last year is recognised by the presence of five players in the Test Team of the Year.

Tim Bresnan's return of 3-4 against Pakistan at the SWALEC Stadium last summer is among the candidates for the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year, while England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards is one of of four players up for the Women’s Cricketer of the Year prize.

The shortlists were selected by 25-strong independent panel, who based their votes on players’ performances from August 11 2010 to August 3 2011. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on September 12.

Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy)

Hashim Amla (SA)
Alastair Cook (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Jonathan Trott (Eng)

Test Player of the Year

James Anderson (Eng)
Alastair Cook (Eng)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Jonathan Trott (Eng)

ODI Player of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Gautam Gambhir (Ind)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Shane Watson (Aus)

Emerging Player of the Year

Azhar Ali (Pak)
Devendra Bishoo (WI)
Darren Bravo (WI)
Wahab Riaz (Pak)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)
Hamid Hassan (Afg)
Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
Paul Stirling (Ire)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Tim Bresnan (Eng): 3-10-3-4 v Pakistan, Cardiff, September 7 2010
JP Duminy (SA): 96 not out, (54b, 10x4, 4x6) v Zimbabwe, Kimberley, October 10 2010
Tim Southee (NZ): 4-1-18-5 v Pakistan, Auckland, December 26 2010
Shane Watson (Aus): 59 (31b, 6x4, 3x6) v England, Adelaide, January 12 2011

Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Charlotte Edwards (Eng)
Lydia Greenway (Eng)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy)

Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Ian Gould
Simon Taufel

Spirit of Cricket Award

MS Dhoni (Ind): Recall of Ian Bell during the second Test match between England and India at Trent Bridge, July-August 2011
Jacques Kallis (SA): Twice during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 walking after clarifying with the opposition fielder if they had caught the ball cleanly

LG People’s Choice Award

Hashim Amla (SA)
MS Dhoni (Ind)
Chris Gayle (WI)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Jonathan Trott (Eng)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move