Johnson beats Strauss to ICC award

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Watch ECBtv's report from the ICC Awards night in Johannesburg in the video player above

Mitchell Johnson

Mitchell Johnson admitted he was "surprised to be up here" after accepting the ICC Cricketer of the Year award for 2009

England captain Andrew Strauss missed out on the Cricketer of the Year prize to Australia’s Mitchell Johnson at the International Cricket Council awards.

Less than 24 hours before the sides meet in the semi-final of the ICC Champions Trophy, Johnson beat Strauss and India pair Gautam Gambhir and Mahendra Singh Dhoni to the much sought-after award.

"I'm really blown away," Johnson said after picking up the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy at the ceremony in Johannesburg. "I am just surprised to be up here.

"It has been a great 12 months for our side. We have lost some wonderful players in recent years and we have been rebuilding with some young guys in the team and we have played together well.

"I'm enjoying the game at the moment - that makes all the difference. The highlight for me was actually my first century in a Test match.”

During the voting period from August 13 2008 to August 24 2009 Johnson played 17 Tests, took 80 wickets - comfortably the highest of any player - at 27.07 apiece and scored 632 runs at an average of 30.09.

Johnson also collected 28 wickets at an average of 24.25 in 16 one-day internationals.

Andrew Strauss

Andrew Strauss missed out on the top award, but was named in the Test Team of the Year alongside Stuart Broad

He added: "I would be quite happy to wear the tag of all-rounder so I have been pleased with how my batting has come on. Also, winning in South Africa was a huge high for us.

“I'd like to thanks my team-mates, friends and family and my fiancee for putting up with the ups and downs over the last year or so.”

Like Johnson, Strauss made the shortlist for the shortlist for ICC Test Player of the Year, but they missed out to Gambhir.

The left-handed opener also beat off competition from Sri Lanka's Thilan Samaraweera to claim the first ICC award of his career.

Gambhir scored 1,269 runs at 84.60 in eight Tests during the voting period, including five hundreds and four half-centuries.

"It's been a dream run for me,” he said. “I never thought it could be like this but life has changed for me and I am very happy.

“As a unit we have played very well and I am just glad to contribute to the overall success of the team.”

England seamer Graham Onions was overlooked for the Emerging Player of the Year award, which went to Australia’s Peter Siddle, but England's Claire Taylor picked up the Women's Cricketer of the Year gong.

India captain Dhoni collected the ODI Player of the Year award for the second successive year thanks to 967 runs at an average of 60.43.

Ireland captain Will Porterfield was crowned Associate Player of the Year and Sri Lanka opener Tillakaratne Dilshan’s unbeaten 96 off 57 balls against West Indies in the World Twenty20 at the Brit Oval this summer was adjudged the Twenty20 International Performance of the Year.

Will Porterfield, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Gautam Gambhir, Claire Taylor, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle & Aleem Dar

All-star cast: the ICC award winners show off their wares at the end of a glittering ceremony in Johannesburg this evening

Pakistani Aleem Dar was named Umpire of the Year and New Zealand took the Spirit of Cricket award.

England were also represented in the ICC Test Team of the Year in the form of Strauss and Stuart Broad, while Kevin Pietersen and Andrew Flintoff - both of whom are currently injured - made the ODI Team of the Year.

ICC Awards 2009

Cricketer of the Year: Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
Test Player of the Year: Gautam Gambhir (India)
ODI Player of the Year: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India)
Women's Cricketer of the Year: Claire Taylor (England)
Emerging Player of the Year: Peter Siddle (Australia)
Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Will Porterfield (Ireland)
Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
Spirit of Cricket Award: New Zealand
Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar

Test Team of the Year (in batting order)

Gautam Gambhir (India)
Andrew Strauss (England)
AB de Villiers (South Africa)
Sachin Tendulkar (India)
Thilan Samaraweera (Sri Lanka)
Michael Clarke (Australia)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, wicketkeeper & captain (India)
Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)
Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
Stuart Broad (England)
Dale Steyn (South Africa)
12th man: Harbhajan Singh (India)

ODI Team of the Year (in batting order)

Virender Sehwag (India)
Chris Gayle (West Indies)
Kevin Pietersen (England)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
Yuvraj Singh (India)
Martin Guptill (New Zealand)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni, wicketkeeper & captain (India)
Andrew Flintoff (England)
Nuwan Kulasekara (Sri Lanka)
Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)
Umar Gul (Pakistan)
12th man: Thilan Thushara (Sri Lanka)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move