Cook and Broad earn recognition

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Keep tabs on the England team - click here for all the breaking news from the camp, exclusive interviews, match reports and much more

Alastair Cook and Stuart Broad are among the nine players to have been nominated for the Cricketer of the Year honour in the LG ICC Awards 2012.

The long-lists for all 11 categories were announced today ahead of the annual ceremony, which will take place in Colombo on September 15.

Cook and Broad will hope to follow in the footsteps of England team-mate Jonathan Trott, last year’s winner of the prestigious prize.

Their rivals are South African duo Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, along with Saeed Ajmal, Virat Kohli, Kumar Sangakkara, Michael Clarke and West Indies women’s captain Stafanie Taylor - the first female player to be nominated for the award.

Alastair Cook

England's Alastair Cook has been nominated for all three main prizes in the LG ICC Awards 2012. The left-handed opener walked away with the Test Cricketer of the Year gong last year

Cook walked away with the Test Cricketer of the Year gong following last year’s ceremony in London and has once again been nominated for that prize, along with Broad and Matt Prior.

The left-handed opener and Steven Finn are England’s nominees in the ODI Cricketer of the Year category, while Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor are in contention for the respective women’s award. The latter could also scoop the Women’s T20 International Cricketer of the Year honour.

Three other England players have been recognised.

As previously announced, fast bowler James Anderson is one of five men shortlisted for the LG People’s Choice Award, voted for by fans, while Alex Hales and Ravi Bopara are in the running to win the prize for Twenty20 International Performance of the Year.

Hales has been rewarded for his spectacular 99 versus West Indies at Trent Bridge in June, while Bopara’s selection comes as a result of him returning 4-10 against the same opposition at the Kia Oval last September.

All nominations are based on the period between August 4 2011 and August 6 2012, and the winners will be decided by an academy of 32 cricket personalities from around the world, including former players, respected members of the media and representatives of the Emirates Elite Panels of ICC umpires and match referees.

Together with the 11 individual awards, the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year will also be selected.

“The LG ICC Awards presents a wonderful opportunity for the ICC, along with thousands of cricket fans, to acknowledge and reward the brilliant performances of the world's best cricketers,” said ICC chief executive David Richardson.

Keep up to date with all that's new around the world - read match reports and more from every international played

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move