RSS feeds from

England news RSS

England trio in ICC team

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Keep tabs on the England team - click here for all the breaking news from the camp, exclusive interviews, match reports and much more

New Test captain Alastair Cook is one of three England players to have been named in the International Cricket Council’s five-day team of the year.

Cook was yesterday confirmed as Andrew Strauss’ successor after the former skipper opted to call time on his distinguished career.

England's new leader has been included in the ICC Test line-up for 2012 alongside team-mates Stuart Broad and Matt Prior.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: “Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and well deserving of the recognition they receive as great cricketers of their era.

“The quality of the Test cricket played over the course of the year has been exceptional and I did not envy the selectors in their task of selecting the best. Congratulations to those who have made it. They make a formidable team.”

Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor are among four players nominated for the women’s one-day international cricketer of the year gong, while the latter could win the T20 equivalent too.

ICC Award Nominees

ICC Test Team of the Year

Alastair Cook (England), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Michael Clarke (Australia, captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies), Matt Prior (England, wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (England), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), Vernon Philander (South Africa), Dale Steyn (South Africa)
12th Man - AB de Villers (South Africa).

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year

Hashim Amla (SA)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Vernon Philander (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year

MS Dhoni (Ind)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
Lasith Malinga (SL)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year

Lydia Greenway (Eng)
Anisa Mohammed (WI)
Sarah Taylor (Eng)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Doug Bracewell (NZ)
Dinesh Chandimal (SL)
Sunil Narine (WI)
James Pattinson (Aus)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year

Kevin O'Brien (Ire)
George Dockrell (Ire)
Ed Joyce (Ire)
Paul Stirling (Ire)
Dawlat Zadran (Afg)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL) - 104no (57b, 12x4, 5x6) v Australia, Pallekele, August 6 2011
Chris Gayle (WI) - 85no (52b, 7x4, 5x6) v New Zealand, Lauderhill, June 30 2012
Richard Levi (SA) - 117no (51b, 5x4. 13x6) v New Zealand, Auckland, February 19 2012
Ajantha Mendis (SL) - 4-1-16-6 v Australia, Pallekele, August 8 2011

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year

Alyssa Healy (Aus)
Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)
Sarah Taylor (Eng)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year

Billy Bowden
Aleem Dar
Kumar Dharmasena
Richard Kettleborough
Simon Taufel
Rodney Tucker

ICC Spirit of Cricket

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)

Keep up to date with all that's new around the world - read match reports and more from every international played