Swann shortlisted for top ICC award

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Graeme Swann

Graeme Swann completes his maiden 10-wicket Test innings haul against Bangladesh in Chittagong in March

England’s cricketer of the year Graeme Swann was today shortlisted as one of four men still in the running for the equivalent international honour.

Off-spinner Swann was initially excluded last month, as an oversight, from the list of those under consideration for the International Cricket Council award.

But he was added to the long-list and this morning was named on the short one, alongside India batsmen Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag plus South Africa’s Hashim Amla.

The Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year, along with several others to recognise global achievement in the sport, will be presented at a ceremony in Bangalore on October 6.

Steven Finn is in the running for the Emerging Player of the Year prize, with Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews and Pakistan’s Umar Akmal.

Katherine Brunt, England women’s cricketer of the year, is among those nominated as Women’s Cricketer of the Year. The seamer is up against Australians Shelley Nitschke and Ellyse Perry plus West Indies’ Stafanie Taylor.

Hugh Morris, managing director - England Cricket, said: “I would like to congratulate all three players on being short-listed for their respective awards.

“Graeme Swann played an integral part in England’s ICC World Twenty20 victory and has performed well for England in all forms of the game over the past 12 months.

“Steven Finn also impressed everyone with his contributions in the npower Test Series wins over Bangladesh and Pakistan earlier this summer and is a player with enormous potential."

Clare Connor, head of England women’s cricket, added: “I, and all my colleagues at the ECB, are delighted for Katherine. This is a fitting nomination in reflection of her achievements over the past twelve months.

“Following on from the team’s 2009 victories, Katherine has continued to perform at the top of her game for England, including picking up career-best figures in India earlier this year. This is a great honour for Katherine and I wish her the best of luck on the night.”

Tendulkar, Sehwag and Amla are also shortlisted for the Test player of the year alongside South Africa’s Dale Steyn at the seventh annual ICC Awards.

Tendulkar is unique in that he is also in contention for the one-day international player of the year award, shortlisted alongside Australia’s Shane Watson and Ryan Harris as well as South Africa’s AB de Villiers.

The Twenty20 international performance of the year sees New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum shortlisted alongside Australia’s Mike Hussey, Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardene and South Africa’s Ryan McLaren.

Essex and the Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate and Irish pair Trent Johnston and Kevin O’Brien are vying for the Associate and Affiliate player of the year award.

Swann and James Anderson had been long-listed for Test Cricketer of the Year, Tim Bresnan and Eoin Morgan for Emerging Cricketer, and Lydia Greenway for Women’s Cricketer. Morgan had also been on the Twenty20 Performance of the Year long-list.

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move