RSS feeds from

Investec Tests news RSS

England call for Sidebottom and Trott

Investec Test Series

Jonathan Trott

Jonathan Trott is one of the form batsmen in this season's championship, with 798 runs and three centuries so far

England have announced a 14-man squad for the fourth npower Ashes Test against Australia at Headingley Carnegie, starting on Friday.

The squad includes the XI who featured in the drawn third Test at Edgbaston, together with pace bowlers Steve Harmison and Ryan Sidebottom, and the uncapped Warwickshire batsman Jonathan Trott.

ECB national selector Geoff Miller said: “In choosing our squad for this Test match, we decided to omit a second spinner as Headingley is not usually a ground where two spinners are required. Therefore Monty Panesar misses out on selection this time.

“We will need to carefully assess the pitch and the overhead conditions at Headingley before finalising our eleven for this Test and the inclusion of Stephen Harmison and Ryan Sidebottom will give us different types of pace bowling options.

“Both players have been in good form for their counties in recent weeks and as selectors we are delighted that competition for places in the side is so strong.

“Jonathan Trott has also performed really well for Warwickshire this season and his place in the squad is fully deserved. His inclusion will provide us with the option of playing six batsmen if we feel this is appropriate.

“We will continue to closely monitor Andrew Flintoff’s fitness in the build-up to Headingley.

“His right knee will be reassessed by our medical staff over the next 48 hours and no final decision on his availability will be taken until closer to the start of the Test match.”

England squad for fourth npower Ashes Test versus Australia at Headingley Carnegie (starting on Friday):

Andrew Strauss (captain, Middlesex)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Paul Collingwood (Durham)
Alastair Cook (Essex)
Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
Steve Harmison (Durham)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move