RSS feeds from

Investec Tests news RSS

Powell cut from England tour

Investec Test Series
Daren Powell

Daren Powell's scattergun form with the ball costs him a place on the England tour

West Indies have dropped Daren Powell and Ryan Hinds from the Test squad to tour England in May.

The 17-man squad includes five players who did not feature in the Windies’ 1-0 home series victory over England over the winter, which won back the Wisden Trophy.

Two uncapped fast bowlers - Grenada’s Nelon Pascal and Andrew Richardson of Jamaica - come into the squad for the two-match npower Test series at Lord's and Chester-le-Street.

There are also Test recalls for all-rounders David Bernard and Darren Sammy, while the domestic batting form of Narsingh Deonarine and Dale Richards gives Chris Gayle options at the top of the order.

Powell’s place has long been in question - he has managed just 25 wickets at 61 in his previous 14 Tests - a statistic which opens up a spot for Pascal, Richardson or Lionel Baker.

Pascal, 21, has taken 42 wickets in 14 first-class matches for Windward Islands.

Clyde Butts, West Indies chairman of selectors, said: “This year Richardson has been bowling very well and deserves his selection. He is tall, accurate and has the ability to get wickets at crucial stages in the game.”

Hinds played a prominent role as a third spinner in the Test series, but scored just 91 runs in five innings despite strong form for Barbados.

Deonarine, the Guyana left-hander with four Tests to his name, was the first man to 1,000 runs in the West Indies’ four-day competition.

“We felt he needed to get scores and take his game to another level and he did just that,” Butts said. “He has been consistent and deserves this chance.”

Sammy will have fond memories of England - he took seven wickets on Test debut at Old Trafford in West Indies’ last tour of England in 2007.

The first npower Test begins at Lord's on May 6 - by which point captain Gayle and fast bowler Fidel Edwards will have returned from 12-day stints in the Indian Premier League.

West Indies squad: Chris Gayle (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wkt), Lionel Baker, Sulieman Benn, David Bernard, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Fidel Edwards, Brendan Nash, Nelon Pascal, Dale Richards, Andrew Richardson, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor.