Cook and Finn in ODI Team of Year

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Keep tabs on the England team - click here for all the breaking news from the camp, exclusive interviews, match reports and much more

Steven Finn & Alastair Cook

Steven Finn and Alastair Cook are England's two representatives in the International Cricket Council's ODI Team of the Year

Alastair Cook and Steven Finn have been named in the International Cricket Council’s ODI Team of the Year.

Cook was also named in the Test Team of the Year last month, while Finn, together with India batsman Virat Kohli and Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal, is one of three players in the ODI selection for the first time.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, by contrast, has been recognised for a fifth year in succession.

The team was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by West Indies legend Clive Lloyd. Also on the panel are Tom Moody, Carl Hooper, Marvan Atapattu and Clare Connor, who now serves as the ECB’s Head of Women’s Cricket.

Lloyd said: “This team, along with the Test Team of the Year, was extremely difficult to decide upon, but we feel the side has the strength to bat well down the order, while also having a good variety for any type of conditions when it comes to its bowling attack.

“It’s pleasing to include for the first time the likes of Virat Kohli, Saeed Ajmal and Steven Finn – none of whom have appeared in an ICC ODI Team of the Year before.”

ICC chief executive David Richardson added: “I think we can safely say that this is one of the strongest ODI Team of the Year selections ever.

“With six countries represented and a vast expanse of talent, the team would be a challenge to beat for any number of opposition sides.

“All the members of the squad should be very proud of their selections; the panel had a tough task deciding the final 12 and it is a fantastic achievement to be included.”

ICC ODI Team of the Year

Gautam Gambhir (India)
Alastair Cook (England)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
Virat Kohli (India)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India)
Michael Clarke (Australia)
Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)
Morne Morkel (South Africa)
Steven Finn (England)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
12th man – Shane Watson (Australia)

Keep up to date with all that's new around the world - read match reports and more from every international played

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move