Onions and Bresnan included in EPS

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Graham Onions, Tim Bresnan & Graeme Swann

Graham Onions and Tim Bresnan's fine England performances in the first half of this season have earned them a place in the England Performance Squad where they join Graeme Swann

Graham Onions and Tim Bresnan have been added to the England Performance Squad for the home 2009 season.

The original 25-man squad was announced on April 8 and with these additions and the recent retirement of Michael Vaughan, the squad has now grown to 26.

Dimitri Mascarenhas has become the first player to be awarded an England increment contract via the points system in place for players not awarded England 12-month or increment contracts at the start of a contract year.

Players can subsequently be awarded an increment contract if they reach the thresh-hold of 20 appearance points for England during the contract year (Oct 1 2008 - Sept 30 2009).

Two appearance points are awarded for a one-day international or Twenty20 international appearance and five for a Test appearance. Dimitri Mascarenhas reached 20 points during the World Twenty20 2009.

Geoff Miller, national selector, said: “Graham and Tim have played important roles during the early part of the international programme and thoroughly deserve their places in the England Performance Squad.

“Dimi just missed out on an increment contract at the start of the contract year but has now earned his contract through his major contribution to England's ODI and T20 team in the West Indies and during the first half of the summer.”

The England Performance Squad now consists of 26 players including 11 on England 12-month central contracts and eight on England increment contracts.

England Performance Squad 2009

Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire)+
James Anderson ( Lancashire)*
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)*
Ravi Bopara (Essex)+
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)*
Paul Collingwood (Durham)*
Alastair Cook (Essex)*
Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)*
James Foster (Essex)
Stephen Harmison (Durham)*
Robert Key (Kent)
Amjad Khan (Kent)
Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)+
Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire)*
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)+
Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)*
Matthew Prior (Sussex)+
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Owais Shah (Middlesex)+
Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)*
Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)*
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)+
Luke Wright (Sussex)+

* denotes 11 players on England 12-month central contracts
+ denotes eight players on England increment contracts

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move