Strauss and Onions up for ICC gongs

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Andrew Strauss

Winning the Ashes capped a hugely productive year with the bat for England captain Andrew Strauss

England captain Andrew Strauss and newcomer Graham Onions are in the running to be named Cricketer of the Year at the annual International Cricket Council awards.

Strauss features on the long-list of nominees for the prestigious gong after enjoying a prolific year with the bat and captaining England to Ashes glory against Australia this summer.

Onions, meanwhile, has been recognised for the impressive start he made to his Test career, in which he has taken 20 wickets at 25 apiece in five Tests since his debut in May.

Strauss is joined by all-rounder Stuart Broad and off-spinner Graeme Swann – fellow members of England’s Ashes-winning side – on the long-list for the Test Player of the Year award, while Onions is also in with a chance of scooping the Emerging Player of the Year prize.

All-rounder Andrew Flintoff provides England’s representation in the ODI Player of the Year category, the ICC revealed today in Mumbai.

England women’s sensational year has been recognised by the inclusion of five players on the long-list for Women’s Player of the Year: captain Charlotte Edwards, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor, Holly Colvin and Laura Marsh.

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni features among the Cricketer of the Year, Test Player of the Year and ODI Player of the Year nominees, while Sri Lanka opening batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan is also included in the first two catergories as well as the Twenty20 Performance of the Year long-list.

Strauss scored 1,323 runs at an average of 60.13 in the qualifying period, including six hundreds, and ended the triumphant Ashes series as the leading run-scorer on either side.

Onions claimed 5-38 – and match figures of 7-102 – on his England debut against West Indies at Lord’s in the first Test of the English summer, and figured in three of the five Ashes Tests.

Broad, just 23 and widely regarded as one of the finest all-round talents in the world game, took 40 wickets at 31.20 apiece and averaged 26.33 with the bat in the past 12 months.

His most notable performance came in the final Ashes Test at the Brit Oval, when his 5-37 haul helped set up the victory England needed to win the series and regain the urn.

Swann made his Test debut as recently as last December, but he has established himself as England’s premier spinner with 48 wickets at an average of 30.39, including 5-57 against West Indies in Antigua in February, and eight victims in the match against Australia at the Oval.

Flintoff, who retired from Test cricket after the Ashes, wins recognition for his 20 ODI wickets in an injury-interrupted year.

The nominations were made by a five-man selection panel chaired by Clive Lloyd, former West Indies captain and current chairman of the ICC cricket. It also included former players Anil Kumble, Mudassar Nazar, Stephen Fleming and ex-England wicketkeeper Bob Taylor.

The long-lists reflect players’ performances from August 13 2008 to August 29 2009, and will be reduced to shortlists before the awards ceremony in Johannesburg on October 1.

ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said: “It is a chance for followers of our great sport to reflect on some of the great cricketing feats they have witnessed over the past year.

“This will be the sixth time the awards have been handed out and yet again there are so many great performances to recall. Selecting the winners will no doubt test our selectors and voting academy.”


Cricketer of the Year

Stuart Broad

Stuart Broad's heroics in the final Ashes Test at the Brit Oval are part of the reason behind his Test nomination

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Gautam Gambhir (Ind)
Saqib Al Hasan (Ban)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Graham Onions (Eng)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Harbhajan Singh (Ind)
Graeme Smith (SA)
Andrew Strauss (Eng)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)

Test Player of the Year

Stuart Broad (Eng)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Gautam Gambhir (Ind)
Saqib Al Hasan (Ban)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
VVS Laxman (Ind)
Jesse Ryder (NZ)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Ramnaresh Sarwan (WI)
Peter Siddle (Aus)
Harbhajan Singh (Ind)
Graeme Smith (SA)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Andrew Strauss (Eng)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)

ODI Player of the Year

Graham Onions

Graham Onions' start to his Test career earns him a place on the Cricketer of the Year and Emerging Player long-lists

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Andrew Flintoff (Eng)
Chris Gayle (WI)
Umar Gul (Pak)
Martin Guptill (NZ)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Nuwan Kulasekara (SL)
Ajantha Mendis (SL)
Muttiah Muralidaran (SL)
Yuvraj Singh (Ind)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Thilan Thushara (SL)

Emerging Player

Martin Guptill (NZ)
Ben Hilfenhaus (Aus)
Philip Hughes (Aus)
Amit Mishra (Ind)
Graham Onions (Eng)
Kemar Roach (WI)
Jesse Ryder (NZ)
Peter Siddle (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Rizwan Cheema (Can)
Khurram Chohan (Can)
Alex Cusack (Ire)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)
Trent Johnston (Ire)
Neil McCallum (Sco)
Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
Niall O’Brien (Ire)
William Porterfield (Ire)
Boyd Rankin (Ire)
Edgar Schiferli (Ned)
Steve Tikolo (Ken)
Regan West (Ire)
Bas Zuiderent (Ned)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Shahid Afridi (Pak): 4-11 v Holland, Lord’s, June 9; 51 off 34 balls and 2-16 v South Africa, Trent Bridge, June 18; 1-20 and 54 not out off 40 balls v Sri Lanka, Lord’s, June 21.

Saeed Ajmal (Pak): 4-19 v Ireland, the Brit Oval, June 15

Dwayne Bravo (WI): 4-38 and 66 not out off 36 balls v India, Lord's, June 12

Alex Cusack (Ire): 4-18 v Sri Lanka, Lord's, June 14

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL): 74 off 47 balls v West Indies, Trent Bridge, June 10; 96 not out off 57 balls v West Indies, the Brit Oval, June 19

Chris Gayle (WI): 88 off 50 balls v Australia, the Brit Oval, June 6

Umar Gul (Pak): 4-8 v Australia, Dubai, May 7; 5-6 v New Zealand, the Brit Oval, June 13

David Hussey (Aus): 88 not out off 48 balls and 2-21 v South Africa, Johannesburg, March 27

Sanath Jayasuriya (SL): 81 off 47 balls v West Indies, Trent Bridge, June 10

Zaheer Khan (Ind): 4-19 v Ireland, Trent Bridge, June 10

Ajantha Mendis (SL): 4-15 v Zimbabwe, King City, October 10 2008

Wayne Parnell (SA): 4-13 v West Indies, the Brit Oval, June 13

Abdur Razzak (Ban): 4-16 v South Africa, Johannesburg, November 5 2008

David Warner (Aus): 89 off 43 balls v South Africa, MCG, January 11

Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Claire Taylor

Claire Taylor is one of five England women players in the running for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award

Suzie Bates (NZ)
Holly Colvin (Eng)
Charlotte Edwards (Eng)
Laura Marsh (Eng)
Sana Mir (Pak)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Mithali Raj (Ind)
Karen Rolton (Aus)
Priyanka Roy (Ind)
Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)
Claire Taylor (Eng)
Sarah Taylor (Eng)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)
Haidee Tiffin (NZ)
Aimee Watkins (NZ)

Umpire of the Year

Billy Bowden
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Ian Gould
Tony Hill
Daryl Harper
Asad Rauf
Simon Taufel

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move