Swann added to ICC award long-list

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Graeme Swann & Steve Davis

Graeme Swann has been belatedly added to the ICC's Cricketer of the Year long-list

The International Cricket Council has apologised to England spinner Graeme Swann for leaving him off the initial long-list for Cricketer of the Year and belatedly added him to 16 other contenders.

Swann, ranked as the third best bowler in the world, has enjoyed a fine 12 months across the formats and was voted England’s player of the year earlier in the summer.

But, despite taking 49 Test wickets at 27.55 and 28 one-day wickets at 23 in the qualification period, not to mention playing an integral role in England’s ICC World Twenty 20 success, he was not among the contenders announced yesterday.

Clive Lloyd, who headed the selection panel, described Swann’s absence as “a genuine oversight”.

The absence of Swann’s name from a list that included six Australians, including seamer Ryan Harris who played just two Tests in the period, was met with incredulity yesterday.

But Lloyd, who was joined by Duncan Fletcher, Angus Fraser, Matthew Hayden and Ravi Shastri on the panel, said it was merely an honest mistake.

“It was a genuine oversight on the part of the committee as Graeme fully deserved to be nominated in this category,” he said.

“Graeme, during the voting period, produced some very strong performances which puts him alongside the other top performers. On behalf of the selection panel, I apologise for this oversight.”

When asked about the make-up of the long list yesterday Swann’s England team-mate Matt Prior said: “Swanny has bowled absolutely brilliantly, he’s been fantastic and that’s been very obvious for everyone to see.

“The accolades come with performances and Swanny will be keen, whether he’s been selected or not selected for them, to carry on as he is.”

Swann is also nominated for the Test Player of the Year award, alongside team-mate James Anderson, while Steven Finn, Tim Bresnan and Eoin Morgan are all up for the Emerging Player title.

The awards ceremony will take place in Bangalore, India on October 6.

Individual awards

Cricketer of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Michael Clarke (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Morne Morkel (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Graeme Swann (Eng)

Test Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
James Anderson (Eng)
Mohammad Asif (Pak)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tamim Iqbal (BD)
Mahela Jayawardene (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Simon Katich (Aus)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Graeme Swann (Eng)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
Shane Watson (Aus)

ODI Player of the Year
Hashim Amla (SA)
Doug Bollinger (Aus)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Tillekeratne Dilshan (SL)
Ryan Harris (Aus)
Michael Hussey (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Sachin Tendulkar (Ind)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Daniel Vettori (NZ)
Shane Watson (Aus)
Cameron White (Aus)

Emerging Player of the Year
Mohammad Aamer (Pak)
Umar Akmal (Pak)
Tim Bresnan (Eng)
Steven Finn (Eng)
Shafiul Islam (BD)
Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
Angelo Mathews (SL)
Eoin Morgan (Eng)
Pragyan Ojha (Ind)
Tim Paine (Aus)
Wayne Parnell (SA)
Kemar Roach (WI)
Steven Smith (Aus)
Paul Stirling (Ire)
David Warner (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year
Ashish Bagai (Can)
Richie Berrington (Scot)
Muddassar Bukhari (Scot)
Tom Cooper (Neth)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Neth)
Trent Johnston (Ire)
Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
Mohammad Shahzad (Afg)
Samiullah Shenwari (Afg)
Paul Stirling (Ire)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year
Suleiman Benn (WI) – 4-2-6-4 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, Feb 28 2010
Deandra Dottin (WI Women) – 112 not out (45b, 7x4, 9x6) v South Africa Women, Basseterra, May 5 2010
Chris Gayle (WI) – 98 (66b, 5x4, 7x6) v India, Bridgetown, May 9 2010
Michael Hussey (Aus) – 60 not out (24b, 3x4, 5x6) v Pakistan, St Lucia, May 14 2010
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) – 100 (64b, 10x4 4x6) v Zimbabwe, Guyana, May 3 2010
Mahela Jayawardene (SL) – 98 not out (56b 9x4, 4x6) v West Indies, Bridgetown, May 7 2010
Nuwan Kulasekera (SL) – 3-1-4-3 v New Zealand, Lauderhill, May 23 2010
Ryan McLaren (Aus) – 3-0-19-5 v West Indies, North Stand, May 19 2010
Brendon McCullum (NZ) – 116 not out (56b, 12x4, 8x6) v Australia, Christchurch, Feb 28 2010
Eoin Morgan (Eng) – 85 not out (45b, 7x4, 5x6) v South Africa, Johannesburg, Nov 13 2009
Nehemiah Odhiambo (Zim) – 4-0-20-5 v Scotland, Nairobi, Feb 4 2010
Ellyse Perry (Aus Women) – 4-0-18-3 v New Zealand Women, Barbados, May 16 2010
Suresh Raina (Ind) – 101 (60b, 9x4, 5x6) v South Africa, St Lucia, May 2 2010
Darren Sammy (WI) – 3.5-0-26-5 v Zimbabwe, Port of Spain, Feb 28 2010

Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Suzie Bates (NZ)
Nicola Browne (NZ)
Katherine Brunt (Eng)
Sophie Devine (NZ)
Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Lydia Greenway (Eng)
Sarah McGlashan (NZ)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Ellyse Perry (Aus)
Laura Poulton (Aus)
Mithali Raj (Ind)
Gouher Sultana (Ind)
Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Umpire of the Year
Billy Bowden
Aleem Dar
Steve Davis
Asoka de Silva
Billy Doctrove
Marais Erasmus
Ian Gould
Tony Hill
Daryl Harper
Rudi Koertzen
Asad Rauf
Simon Taufel
Rod Tucker

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move