Swann in ICC Team of the Year

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Follow England against India via our match-by-match page - all the reports, reaction, video highlights and live photos

Graeme Swann

Graeme Swann's rise to the top of the ODI bowlers rankings has been recognised after the ICC named the spinner in their Team of the Year

Graeme Swann has been named in the International Cricket Council's one-day international Team of the Year.

The Nottinghamshire off-spinner is the sole Englishman in the line-up after his rise to the top of the ODI bowlers rankings this year.

His inclusion comes at the end of a 12-month qualifying period in which he and his England team-mates, who have since gone on to beat India, also saw off Pakistan and Sri Lanka at home.

But they lost 6-1 to Australia in the Commonwealth Bank Series and by 10 wickets to Sri Lanka in a World Cup quarter-final in Colombo.

The ICC's team also features four members of India's World Cup winning line-up, two from finalists Sri Lanka, while Lasith Malinga is 12th man, two from South Africa, and one each from Pakistan and Australia.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been named in the team for the fourth consecutive year and he would captain as well keep wicket in the side.

West Indies batting legend and former captain Clive Lloyd chaired a specially appointed selection panel and he said: “This has been an outstanding year for 50-over cricket. I think everyone saw in the ICC Cricket World Cup how exciting this format can be.

“The ICC Cricket World Cup was rightly applauded as one of the greatest in history and no one who was in Mumbai will forget that remarkable evening.

“The ODI team of the year reflects the success of India with four players selected - Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni and Zaheer Khan. Yuvraj was, of course, the player of the tournament and MS Dhoni, the man of the match in the final, whilst fellow finalists Sri Lanka has three players in the side.”

Lloyd was joined on the panel by former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas, former England captain Mike Gatting, former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison and former South Africa bowler Paul Adams.

The ICC ODI Team of the Year was one of two teams selected by the ICC selection panel along with the Test line-up which was announced last month.

ICC ODI Team of the Year (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
Virender Sehwag (India)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
AB de Villiers (South Africa),
Shane Watson (Australia)
Yuvraj Singh (India)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (India - wicketkeeper/captain)
Graeme Swann (England)
Umar Gul (Pakistan)
Dale Steyn (South Africa)
Zaheer Khan (India)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka - 12th Man)

Follow on Facebook


Become a member of the official fan community of England cricket on Facebook right now - and get your opinions heard!

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move