Trott and Cook scoop top awards

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Watch's coverage from the ICC Awards - featuring Jonathan Trott's media conference

England duo Jonathan Trott and Alastair Cook have both been recognised for their outstanding form over the past 12 months after they collected the major honours at the International Cricket Council awards.

Trott was announced as the Cricketer of the Year, while Cook was named Test Cricketer of the Year.

Trott has compiled 1,042 runs at an average of 65.12 in 12 Tests, including four centuries and three fifties between August 11 2010 and August 3 2011.

His runs have been central to England marching to the top of the Test rankings following their 4-0 series whitewash over India last month.

In addition, the 30-year-old played 24 one-day internationals, hitting 1,064 runs at an average of 48.36 with two hundreds and nine half-centuries.

Alastair Cook & Jonathan Trott

Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott with the Test Cricketer of the Year and Cricketer of the Year awards respectively at the ICC ceremony

The Warwickshire batsman had to beat off stiff competition from Cook as well as India's Sachin Tendulkar, last year's winner, and South Africa opening batsman Hashim Amla to the award.

He is the second Englishman to collect the top honour after Andrew Flintoff, who shared the prize with South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis in 2005.

Trott, who accepted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy from ICC president Sharad Pawar, said: "It’s fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award and it’s a brilliant feeling to be recognised.”

Trott’s form this year saw him in the running for the Test Cricketer of the Year as well but it was Cook who triumphed. The left-handed opener also had to beat off competition from James Anderson and 2005 winner Kallis.

Cook’s form over the past year has been nothing short of remarkable in the five-day format and he has recorded 1,302 runs in 12 Tests at 51.74.

The 26-year-old was particularly imperious in Australia, where he registered 766 runs in five Tests to inspire England to a 3-1 Ashes win for a first series victory Down Under since 1986/87.

Alastair Cook & Jonathan Trott

Cook and Trott amassed 2,344 Test runs between them in the last year, including a memorable unbroken 329-run stand at Brisbane

Cook, who received his trophy from West Indies legend Curtly Ambrose, was quick to praise his team-mates.

“I think the highlight of year was when we won in Sydney, to beat Australia and Chris Tremlett to take that final wicket it was truly a great year. This award is about the rest of the team not just me," he said.

Kumar Sangakkara was announced as the ODI Player of the Year and he became the second recipient of the LG People’s Choice Award.

Among tonight’s other winners were India’s World Cup-winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who took the Spirit of Cricket award for his part in recalling England’s Ian Bell after his controversial run-out during this summer’s Trent Bridge npower Test.

Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien was edged out as the ICC’s Associate Player of the Year by Netherlands all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate and Aleem Dar was named Umpire of the Year.

England all-rounder Tim Bresnan also had a near miss, Tim Southee instead winning the award for the year’s Outstanding Twenty20 Performance.

West Indies leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo was named Emerging Player of the Year and Stafanie Taylor - also from the Caribbean - Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Watch's coverage from the ICC Awards - featuring Alastair Cook's media conference

ICC Awards

Individual winners

Cricketer of the Year: Jonathan Trott
Test Player of the Year: Alastair Cook
ODI Player of the Year: Kumar Sangakkara
Emerging Player of the Year: Devendra Bishoo
Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate
Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar
Twenty20 Performance of the Year: Tim Southee (NZ): 5-18 v Pakistan, Auckland, Dec 26 2010
Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Stafanie Taylor

Get our free apps

Apps Promo

Download the ECB Cricket app for iPhone, Android, BlackBerry or Nokia phones and get live scores, news, video and other services on the move