MCC introduce new no-ball law
MCC have moved to provide clarity over instances of bowlers colliding with the stumps at the non-striker's end during the act of delivery.
From October 1 2013, a new law will be introduced ruling that a no-ball should be called if a bowler breaks the wicket in his delivery stride.
MCC opted to review the Laws of Cricket, which are currently silent on the issue, at their committee meeting yesterday following several recent incidents involving England paceman Steven Finn.
Law 23.4 (b)(vi) allows umpires to call and signal dead ball if they feel the batsman is distracted, but this leaves the matter open to interpretation on a match-by-match basis.
MCC head of cricket John Stephenson said: "MCC continues to act as a robust guardian of the Laws of Cricket, and must ensure that it consults widely within the amateur and professional game before making changes that will affect anyone who plays the game.
"MCC's decision today to make the breaking of the stumps during the act of delivery a no-ball provides clarity to the situation and removes the need for a subjective assessment to be made by the umpire as to whether the striker has been genuinely distracted or not.
"It also ensures that the striker will still be credited with any runs that he scores from the delivery, and will act as a significant disincentive to the bowler from doing it."
The topic was discussed by the MCC Laws sub-committee, which includes former international umpire Simon Taufel and ICC chief executive David Richardson.
In the interim period, until the official law change comes into effect on October 1, the ICC may consider introducing a playing condition for international cricket to state that a no-ball should be called if the bowler breaks the stumps during the act of delivery.