Godmanchester reign indoors

Ecb Indoor

Winning captain Paul Swannell spoke to ECBtv after lifting the trophy

Godmanchester Town were crowned ECB Indoor Six-a-Side National Club champions for the first time in their history after beating Poole Town at Lord's.

The Huntingdonshire club lost just two wickets as they successfully chased 119 to win a one-sided final against their Dorset opponents.

Captain Paul Swannell led the chase with the bat, retiring on 26 not out, while fellow opener Ben Clement managed just one less as Godmanchester made a perfect start with the bat.

Number three Matt Pateman kept the scoreboard ticking along before being bowled for 19 but a Godmanchester victory seemed inevitable by then.

James Sykes did not last long but Adam Cousins and James Cowan remained calm to see their side home with 11 balls remaining.


Godmanchester Town celebrate after winning the ECB Indoor Six-a-Side National Club at Lord's

Poole captain David Miller had scored 42 not out earlier in the game and there were contributions from Jamie Thomas and Ben Dyson but 118 all out was not enough.

That Godmanchester even reached the final was something of a miracle following a thrilling semi-final against Betteshanger earlier in the day.

After being bowled out for a competitive 139, Godmanchester's dream of lifting the trophy looked all but over as Betterhanger reached 127 for one with two overs remaining.

Swannell had other ideas, however, and threw the game wide open by taking three wickets in a sensational penultimate over.

Betteshanger were still favourites when James Cowan readied himself to bowl the final over, but with just three runs needed and two wickets in hand, the Kent side imploded under pressure with Jonathan Towe and Derek Towe both run out.

Poole's route to the final was rather more straightforward - they beat the much-fancied Blaydon by 13 runs much to the disappointment of some vocal travelling support from the North East.

Miller finished on 50 not out - his undefeated 92 runs over the course of both games earning him the best batsman award - while Martin Ford made a useful 34 not out.

Blaydon were always behind the run-rate despite Mark Drake's 51 not out.