RSS feeds from

ECB National Club Championship news RSS

Blayden are worthy winners

National Club Championship logo

The remaining seven matches in the ECB National Club Championship first round were completed yesterday and contained some spectacular performances.

Allan Worthy blasted 139 not out against Scarborough to enable Blayden to progress into Round 2. His 117 ball innings contained 13 fours and seven sixes to set up a tie away at Tynemouth.

Having damaged his knee midway through the innings he finished the match with a runner. This capped a magnificent double century weekend for Allan who scored exactly 100 on Saturday in the league in a victory against South Northumberland.

Allan is the leading run scorer in the North East Premier League and up until the end of last season had scored 7025 runs scoring 14 centuries. He has played for and captained Chester-le-Street, Gateshead Fell and joined Blayden in 2005.

However, it was not all one way for the North East Premier League as York won easily against Gateshead Fell with the McKendry brothers taking Gateshead to task.

Ryan Mckendry took the best figures of the round, 6-28, in dismissing the opponents for 129 and brother Liam steered York home with 63 not out.

In a clash between North Yorkshire South Durham League teams at Richmondshire, the hosts were beaten by Stockton by seven wickets, Jonathan Rickard, 104, batted through the innings and took Stockton from 81-3 to 229, with wicket-keeper Dean Williams scoring 62 not out.

In the south west, Bashley were in a precarious position at 155–7 chasing Warminster’ s total of 202 but captain Andrew Neal steered his team home by three wickets with 87 not out in 101 balls to set up a home tie with Harrow Town.

Another highlight was four wickets for 15-year-old James Rapson taking his four wickets for 31 runs.

The full Round 2 Draw is now published – see

Roll of Honour


140 Alex Range – South Hampstead
139* Allan Worthy - Blayden
133* David Hemp – Knowle & Dorridge
133 Dan Lincoln – Finchampstead
114 Alexander Williams – Tunbridge Wells
112* Robert Tidey - Hampstead
112 James Keightley – Teddington
108* Gordon Whorlow – Buckhurst Hill
108 Neil Gladwin – Saffron Walden
106 Ben Slater – Chesterfield
103 Lewis Hill – Lutterworth
103 James Redwood – Brentwood
104* - Jonathan Rickard - Stockton
103 Andy Roberts - Glastonbury
102 Harvey Wilson – Little Lever
101 Ben Ackland – Cambridge Granta
101 Jaden Hatwell - Swardeston
101* Julian Russell - Colchester & East Essex
100 Douglas Rice – Cambridge Granta
100 Adam Mitchell – Corsham

6 wickets

6-28 Ryan Mckendry - York

5 wickets

5-11 Alan Duand - Alder
5-17 M. Smith - Bamford Fieldhouse
5-34 Gert Maartens – Morecombe
5-35 Robert Halliwell – Highfield
5-37 Aaron Jeavons – Wolverhampton
5-48 James Harris – Caythorpe