RSS feeds from

ECB National Club Championship news RSS

Enter the Cockspur Cup

National Club Championship logo

South Northumberland Cockspur Cup 2006

South Northumberland celebrate their 2006 victory

Has your club thought of playing in the Cockspur Cup, the ECB’s National Club Championship? Now’s your chance to enter the competition for 2007 – and maybe get to play in the final at Lord’s.

The Cockspur Cup is the premier club competition in the country. The format of the competition sees entrants split into 16 groups organised on a geographical basis. The group stage involves five rounds – although in some groups there are byes for some teams in the first round.

There are then four national rounds, including the final; these are arranged on a semi-geographical basis with the teams from the northern and southern parts of the draw meeting at Lord’s.

Teams who progress as far as the group final (round five) qualify for prize money which starts at £250 and rising depending upon how far the club progresses in the competition. The winning club receives £6,000 as well as a trip to Barbados and a home game against Lashings; the latter two are courtesy of the sponsors Cockspur Rum. The match against the Lashings team of international stars can prove to be very lucrative for the host club.

Clubs who have recently entered this competition for the first time have enjoyed some unprecedented success in the last two or three years. Caythorpe, from Nottinghamshire, have only been in the competition for the last three years but have been losing semi-finalists two years running, bowing out in 2005 to Barnt Green and in 2006 to the eventual winners from South Northumberland.

St Just from Cornwall entered for the first time in 2006 and reached the semi-finals at their first attempt before going out at Bromley. Another new entrant in 2006 was Bamford Fieldhouse from the Saddleworth League who won their group before losing to York in round six.

Norcross, who play in the Palace Shield, did not progress as far on their first outing but they did gain notable scalps in beating local giants in Blackpool and Morecambe – two victories that this club will remember for many years to come.

Also South Northumberland and Bromley reached the final for the first time in the history of both clubs in 2006, although these clubs have entered for a number of years now. This just goes to demonstrate that smaller clubs have enjoyed some phenomenal success in recent National Club Championships and in 2007 why shouldn’t this be your club?

Below you can download an application form, together with next season's provisional competition dates for your information:

Cockspur Cup - Entry Form 2007 (159 KB)
Cockspur Cup - Provisional Dates 2007 (42 KB)

Please complete and return the form to the ECB, together with a cheque for £20. As a new club you must also enclose a copy of your most recent fixture card.

The closing date for entries is Friday November 10 2006

Please send your applications to:

Patrick Mahony
Competitions Manager
Lord’s Cricket Ground

For more information contact Patrick on: 020 7432 1229 – or email