RSS feeds from

ECB National Club Championship news RSS

Havant in to group final

National Club Championship logo

Southern Premier League leaders Havant will play Ealing in the group final of the National Club Championship after seeing off Bashley (Rydal) by eight wickets.

Ben Walker took a sensational hat-trick in only the second over of the match as Bashley (Rydal) were all out for 49, with Havant losing openers Steve Dean and Pete Hopson before Walker and Richard Hindley guided them to their total.

Havant's reward is a home tie against beaten 2010 ECB finalists Ealing, who defended 185 to beat Reading by 51 runs in their semi-final at Sonning.

Former Middlesex left-arm spinner Chris Peploe took 4-22 for Ealing, who knocked out Ventnor and South Wilts in the previous rounds.

In the east midlands, Nitin Sehgal blasted 206 not out and further scores of 49 and 67 from Nick Robinson and Alex Jewell respectively helped High Wycombe overcome Stanmore and they will host Kibworth in their group final, who squeezed past Leicestershire League Leaders Loughborough Town by three runs.

Saqlain Mushtaq

Meanwhile, Saqlain Mushtaq took 4-15 in the Nottinghamshire Premier League for West Indian Cavaliers against league leaders Clifton and they will travel to Sandiacre Town in the next round on July 3. Town’s Oliver Swann will be buoyed after he plundered 115 from 116 balls against Cleethorpes.

Brentwood had to call upon all their experience and dig deep to defeat Waltham by three runs in the south east.

The Essex league leaders were struggling at 46 for five until a partnership of 122 between Sam Buttleman and Joe Poutney took Brentwood over the 200 mark. Waltham then overcame a difficult start but they fell three runs short.

Roffey had a similarly tense victory over previous winners Teddington where the result was in the balance until the last ball before Roffey booked their place in the last 32.

Chris Tipper hit the highest score of the round with 143 in 129 balls for Northern in the Liverpool competition tie against Bootle, while Morecombe won a bowl out 2-0 against Horwich RMI on a rainy day on the north-west coast

Pick of the bowlers was Tom Gibson from Lancashire county league side Prestwich who together with Andy Bradley dismissed Farnworth Social Circle for 120 having been 104 for three. Gibson took 5 -22 and Bradley 3-24.

In the north-east, Chester-le-Street went through after seeing off Harrogate while South Northumberland and Blaydon will rearrange their washed out tie.

Werrington scraped through against St Austell by just one wicket in the south-east, whilst in the west midlands, Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury will face off in the next round after they defeated Barnt Green and Stone respectively.

2011 Roll of Honour

Double Centurion
206* Nitin Sehgal - High Wycombe v Stanmore

161* Neil Thurgood – Bashley v Harrow Town
161 Nick Baker – Bashley v Harrow Town
153 Christopher Binnie - Downend
143* Chris Tipper - Northern v Bootle
142* Tim Gruijters - Warmley v Smethwick
140 Alex Range – South Hampstead
139 Chris Barrow – Farnworth Social Circle v Heaton
139* Allan Worthy – Blaydon
133* David Hemp – Knowle & Dorridge
133 Dan Lincoln – Finchampstead
129 James Dawson – Stone v Kenilworth Wardens
128 Lee Goodard – East Bierley v Alfreton
127 Paul Burdett – Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Doncaster
127 Vic Craven – Harrogate v Stockton
121 Adam Roylane – Grappenhall v Fordhouses
115* Oliver Swann - Sandiacre Town v Cleethorpes
114 Alexander Williams – Tunbridge Wells
112* Robert Tidey – Hampstead
112 James Keightley – Teddington
111 Craig Gallagher - Horsham v Bexhill
109 Shaun Cousens – Malden Wanderers v Osterley
108* Gordon Whorlow – Buckhurst Hill
108 Neil Gladwin – Saffron Walden
106 Ben Slater – Chesterfield
105 Nathan Hawkes - Banbury v Stanmore
103 Lewis Hill – Lutterworth
103 James Redwood – Brentwood
104* Jonathan Rickard – Stockton
103 Andy Roberts – Glastonbury
102 Harvey Wilson – Little Lever
101 William Root – Sheffield Collegiate v Sandiacre
101 Ben Ackland – Cambridge Granta
101 Jaden Hatwell – Swardeston
101* Julian Russell – Colchester & East Essex
100 Douglas Rice – Cambridge Granta
100 Adam Mitchell – Corsham

Best bowling
6 - 11 Maroof Azam - Smethwick v Moddershall
6 - 18 Lloyd Davies - Bath v Keynsham
6 - 19 Paul Bradshaw - Vauxhall Mallards v Chingford
6 - 28 Ryan McKendry – York
5 - 11 Alan Duand – Alder
5 - 15 Jeremy Ord - Havant v Bashley
5- 17 Chris Sketchley - High Wycombe v Stanmore
5 - 17 M. Smith – Bamford Fieldhouse
5 - 22 Tom Gibson - Prestwich v Farnworth
5 - 34 Gert Maartens – Morecombe
5 - 35 Robert Halliwell – Highfield
5 - 37 Aaron Jeavons – Wolverhampton
5 - 37 Ritchie Bresnan - Townville v Chesterfield
5 - 45 Michael Churchill - Tunbridge Wells v Preston Nomads
5 - 48 James Harris – Caythorpe
5 - 63 Rob Stanworth – Harrogate v Stockton