Internationals power Cavaliers

ECB logo - small version

Dry and sunny conditions returned to allow the delayed ECB National Club Championship matches to be completed. Four of the five postponed matches took place with Chester le Street and Northern due to meet next weekend.

Walmley travelled to Ormskirk and the hosts, after winning the toss, batted first but found themselves 30 for three following an excellent opening spell from Harry Painter dismissing Matthew Glayzer, Ian Glayzer and John Armstrong.

Alex Tudor

Former England pace bowler Alex Tudor scored runs and took wickets as West Indian Cavaliers comfortable beat Hyde

A partnership of 96 between captain Ian Robinson and wicketkeeper Gary Knight steadied the ship and further contributions from Jonathan Glayzer and Nicky Caunce supported Robinson, who was finally dismissed for 84 in a total of 227 for six.

In reply Walmley lost Daniel Bromley and Chris Whitlock early but regular partnerships took their total to 120 for four and 159 for five, but three wickets - two to Shaun Brocken and a run out - and only one run added stalled their chase and they were eventually dismissed for 182 in 41.5 overs.

Hyde hosted West Indian Cavaliers and the hosts opted to bowl first, a decision that was justified after Robert Woolley dismissed both openers and Scott Kirwin trapped Rawait Khan lbw to leave the visitors at 33 for three.

Gregg Iomax bowled Dominic Williamson but a partnership between ex-England internationals Usman Afzaal and Alex Tudor of 83 took the Cavaliers beyond 150. Some explosive hitting from Afzaal, who finished on 121 not out from 105 balls, took their total to 243 for seven from their 45 overs.

Iomax was the pick of the Hyde bowlers taking 4-42.

The Hyde reply never really got going and wickets fell at regular intervals, although a half century partnership between David Fitzsimmons and Kirwin kept their hosts at bay for some time.

Three wickets a piece for Tudor, Afzaal and Saqlain Mushtaq saw Hyde dismissed for 149 off 35.5 overs.

Tunbridge Wells made the short trip through the Dartford Tunnel to Brentwood for their rearranged match and the hosts were put into bat by their visitors.

A quick opening by Jonathan Walford and Aaron West moved Brentwood to 38 before the former was dismissed by Chris Williams. West and wicketkeeper James Redwood were also out soon after and following Evert Bekker bowling Ronnie Saunders, the hosts were struggling at 65 for four.

But Guy Blamford formed good partnerships with Joe Buttleman and then Max Osborne to move the score onto 152 before a cameo from Harri Jones took the hosts total to 188 for eight from their allotted overs.

Tunbridge Wells also stated slowly and found themselves 39 for five before a partnership of 75 between Bekker and Richard Cutts took the visitors to 114.

More wickets fell at regular intervals and despite runs from Cutts (33) and Simon Routh (29) Tunbridge Wells came up short being bowled out for 166 with five balls remaining.

In the final match of the day, Roffey decided to bowl at Cambridge Granta after the hosts won the toss.

Cambridge Granta, who lost opener Imran Shah lbw for 5 off the bowling of Josh Fleming, saw run-a-ball half centuries from Jason Coleman, Alex Fullarton and Sean Park take the visitors to an imposing 278 for six from their 45 overs.

Roffey in reply lost both openers Fleming and Aaron Jeal with 20 scored, but Mike Norris’ 62 moved the hosts along nicely.

Unfortunately Norris was dismissed by Lewys Hill and then Shah dismissed both Chris Webb and Simon Shivnarain as they were looking to mount a Roffey recovery.

Ben Creese finished off the home team to leave them all out for 193 off of 37.1 overs.

Quarter Final (Sunday 7th August)

Shrewsbury v Ormskirk
West Indian Cavaliers v Chester le Street or Hyde
High Wycombe v Ealing
Brentwood v Cambridge Granta

2011 Roll of Honour

Double Centurion

206* Nitin Sehgal - High Wycombe v Stanmore


161* Neil Thurgood – Bashley v Harrow Town
161 Nick Baker – Bashley v Harrow Town
153 Christopher Binnie - Downend
143* Chris Tipper - Northern v Bootle
142* Tim Gruijters - Warmley v Smethwick
140* Robert Woolley - Hyde v East Bierley
140 Alex Range – South Hampstead
139 Chris Barrow – Farnworth Social Circle v Heaton
139* Allan Worthy – Blaydon
134* Usman Afzaal - West Indian Cavaliers v Sandiacre Town
133* David Hemp – Knowle & Dorridge
133 Dan Lincoln – Finchampstead
129 James Dawson – Stone v Kenilworth Wardens
128 Lee Goodard – East Bierley v Alfreton
127 Paul Burdett – Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Doncaster
127 Vic Craven – Harrogate v Stockton
124 Chris Tipper - Northern v Morecombe
121* Usman Afzaal - West Indian Cavaliers v Hyde
121 Adam Roylane – Grappenhall v Fordhouses
115* Oliver Swann - Sandiacre Town v Cleethorpes
114 Alexander Williams – Tunbridge Wells
112* Robert Tidey – Hampstead
112 James Keightley – Teddington
111 Craig Gallagher - Horsham v Bexhill
110 Oliver Wilkin - Ealing v Havant
109 Shaun Cousens – Malden Wanderers v Osterley
108* Gordon Whorlow – Buckhurst Hill
108 Ben Jeffrey - Ashtead v Tunbridge Wells
108 Neil Gladwin – Saffron Walden
106 Ben Slater – Chesterfield
106 Mike Norris - Roffey v Spencer
105 Nathan Hawkes - Banbury v Stanmore
104* Jonathan Rickard – Stockton
103* Chris Booth - Walmley v Grappenhall
103 Matthew Maynard - Cardiff v High Wycombe
103 Lewis Hill – Lutterworth
103 James Redwood – Brentwood
103 Andy Roberts – Glastonbury
102 Harvey Wilson – Little Lever
101 William Root – Sheffield Collegiate v Sandiacre
101 Ben Ackland – Cambridge Granta
101 Jaden Hatwell – Swardeston
101* Julian Russell – Colchester & East Essex
100 Douglas Rice – Cambridge Granta
100 Adam Mitchell – Corsham

Best bowling

6 - 11 Maroof Azam - Smethwick v Moddershall
6 - 18 Lloyd Davies - Bath v Keynsham
6 - 19 Paul Bradshaw - Vauxhall Mallards v Chingford
6 - 28 Ryan McKendry – York
5 - 11 Alan Duand – Alder
5 - 15 Jeremy Ord - Havant v Bashley
5 - 17 Chris Sketchley - High Wycombe v Stanmore
5 - 17 M. Smith – Bamford Fieldhouse
5 - 22 Tom Gibson - Prestwich v Farnworth
5 - 34 Gert Maartens – Morecombe
5 - 35 Robert Halliwell – Highfield
5 - 37 Elliot Green - Shrewsbury v Wolverhampton
5 - 37 Aaron Jeavons – Wolverhampton
5 - 37 Ritchie Bresnan - Townville v Chesterfield
5 - 45 Michael Churchill - Tunbridge Wells v Preston Nomads
5 - 48 James Harris – Caythorpe
5 - 63 Rob Stanworth – Harrogate v Stockton