RSS feeds from

ECB National Club Championship news RSS

Last-16 blighted by rain

National Club Championship logo

The latest band of wet weather crossing the country caused havoc for the first round of the national stages of the ECB National Club Championship.

Only three of the eight matches were able to be completed, with all other matches being postponed.

James Benning

Former Surrey and Leicestershire allrounder James Benning hit a half-century and took 4-50 to help High Wycombe beat Cardiff

In the first of the matches that did happen, Shrewsbury hosted Prestwich and dominated their visitors from start to finish.

Shrewsbury won the toss and decided to bowl and their decision was vindicated as Joe Leach removed both Prestwich openers Danny Jones and David Taylor with the score at eight for two.

Prestwich continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and only Tom Gibson was able to get into double figures as they were dismissed for just 61 off 27.3 overs.

Shrewsbury openers Ed Foster and Ryan Bishop knocked off the runs in just 7.2 overs to qualify for the quarter final stage.

In a much closer match, Ealing travelled to Bridgwater and opted to bowl first, but Bridgwater openers Merv Hallaran and Michael Coles put on 132 for the first wicket before Coles was caught off the bowling of Sameer Patel for 83 off just 75 balls.

This signalled the start of a collapse, with Patel and Oliver Wilkin regularly taking wickets and Ealing bowled out Bridgwater for 189 with 2.4 overs of the 45 remaining.

Ealing started their run chase poorly, with Simon Hawk and Patrick Fallis being dismissed cheaply, but a stand of 120 between Wilkin and Ned Eckersley took Ealing to within sight of victory.

A quick flurry of wickets saw Ealing at 173 for eight, but tailenders Patel and Leigh Parry saw the visitors home to win by two wickets.

The final match that was completed on Sunday saw Cardiff travel to High Wycombe, with the Welsh side winning the toss and electing to bowl first.

High Wycombe were able to build a number of significant partnerships throughout their innings, with half centuries for Nitin Sehgal, James Benning and Alan Duncan all contributing towards an impressive 296 for six after 45 overs.

The Cardiff innings struggled with regular wickets falling at one end, but Matthew Maynard was able to reach his century and his total of 103 was the only major contribution. Cardiff were bowled out for 141 with Benning the pick of the High Wycombe bowlers taking 4-50.

All remaining matches were not played due to the weather - most will now be played on Sunday 24th July, with the exception of the Chester le Street v Northern fixture, which will take place on Sunday 31st July.

The quarter final matches will take place on Sunday 7th August.

2011 Roll of Honour

Double Centurion

206* Nitin Sehgal - High Wycombe v Stanmore


161* Neil Thurgood – Bashley v Harrow Town
161 Nick Baker – Bashley v Harrow Town
153 Christopher Binnie - Downend
143* Chris Tipper - Northern v Bootle
142* Tim Gruijters - Warmley v Smethwick
140* Robert Woolley - Hyde v East Bierley
140 Alex Range – South Hampstead
139 Chris Barrow – Farnworth Social Circle v Heaton
139* Allan Worthy – Blaydon
134* Usman Afzaal - West Indian Cavaliers v Sandiacre Town
133* David Hemp – Knowle & Dorridge
133 Dan Lincoln – Finchampstead
129 James Dawson – Stone v Kenilworth Wardens
128 Lee Goodard – East Bierley v Alfreton
127 Paul Burdett – Mansfield Hosiery Mills v Doncaster
127 Vic Craven – Harrogate v Stockton
124 Chris Tipper - Northern v Morecombe
121 Adam Roylane – Grappenhall v Fordhouses
115* Oliver Swann - Sandiacre Town v Cleethorpes
114 Alexander Williams – Tunbridge Wells
112* Robert Tidey – Hampstead
112 James Keightley – Teddington
111 Craig Gallagher - Horsham v Bexhill
110 Oliver Wilkin - Ealing v Havant
109 Shaun Cousens – Malden Wanderers v Osterley
108* Gordon Whorlow – Buckhurst Hill
108 Ben Jeffrey - Ashtead v Tunbridge Wells
108 Neil Gladwin – Saffron Walden
106 Ben Slater – Chesterfield
106 Mike Norris - Roffey v Spencer
105 Nathan Hawkes - Banbury v Stanmore
104* Jonathan Rickard – Stockton
103* Chris Booth - Walmley v Grappenhall
103 Matthew Maynard - Cardiff v High Wycombe
103 Lewis Hill – Lutterworth
103 James Redwood – Brentwood
103 Andy Roberts – Glastonbury
102 Harvey Wilson – Little Lever
101 William Root – Sheffield Collegiate v Sandiacre
101 Ben Ackland – Cambridge Granta
101 Jaden Hatwell – Swardeston
101* Julian Russell – Colchester & East Essex
100 Douglas Rice – Cambridge Granta
100 Adam Mitchell – Corsham

Best bowling

6 - 11 Maroof Azam - Smethwick v Moddershall
6 - 18 Lloyd Davies - Bath v Keynsham
6 - 19 Paul Bradshaw - Vauxhall Mallards v Chingford
6 - 28 Ryan McKendry – York
5 - 11 Alan Duand – Alder
5 - 15 Jeremy Ord - Havant v Bashley
5 - 17 Chris Sketchley - High Wycombe v Stanmore
5 - 17 M. Smith – Bamford Fieldhouse
5 - 22 Tom Gibson - Prestwich v Farnworth
5 - 34 Gert Maartens – Morecombe
5 - 35 Robert Halliwell – Highfield
5 - 37 Elliot Green - Shrewsbury v Wolverhampton
5 - 37 Aaron Jeavons – Wolverhampton
5 - 37 Ritchie Bresnan - Townville v Chesterfield
5 - 45 Michael Churchill - Tunbridge Wells v Preston Nomads
5 - 48 James Harris – Caythorpe
5 - 63 Rob Stanworth – Harrogate v Stockton