RSS feeds from

ECB National Club t20 news RSS

Derby hosts Cockspur Cup finals day

ECB National Club T20

The ECB is delighted to announce that this year’s Cockspur Club Twenty20 finals day will take place at Derbyshire's County Ground on September 28.

Following on from a successful finals day at Cardiff last year, Sky Sports will continue its excellent support of the recreational game by broadcasting finals day uninterrupted live on Sky Sports.

The 2009 champions will also be flown to the Barbados Pro-Am in October where they will get the chance to play with the likes of Darren Gough and Phil Tufnell.

This season more than 550 clubs took part in 25 Premier League competitions to qualify for the national stages of Cockspur Twenty20.

Paul Bedford, ECB head of operations in non first-class cricket said: “The increase in teams entering this year is really encouraging and demonstrates how the competition is creating opportunities for clubs to generate additional revenue and participation through Twenty20 cricket.

“Eighteen of the 25 teams entering are top of their respective leagues, so the quality of the competition is assured.

“Cockspur is without doubt an excellent partner and we look forward to building the competition to include over 1000 clubs over the next two years.”

Cockspur Club Twenty20

Mike Gatting, the former England captain and now ECB managing director of cricket partnerships said: “All across the country we are hearing stories of heroic feats in this year's Cockspur Club Twenty20.

“The 20 year old who took two hat-tricks in success matches, Oulton Park CC hitting the final ball for four in order to progress to the next round - all of which makes great drama at local club level.

“With a high profile final live on Sky Sports to look forward to it is all part of the ECB's strategic plan to inspire the nation to choose cricket.”

David Smith, global brand director of Cockspur Rum, said: “We are delighted to be supporting Cockspur Club Twenty20 with the England and Wales Cricket Board in this fresh format for the recreational game, and we look forward to welcoming this year’s winners to the cricket-crazy island of Barbados once again.”

The following clubs are 2009 Premier League Twenty20 Champions (they will play this weekend at Bridgwater, Usk, Billericay, High Wycombe, Knowle & Dorridge, Wollaton, Oulton Park and Preston):

Bournemouth (Southern), Bromley (Kent), Bridgwater (WEPL), Burslem (North Staffs & South Cheshire), Chester-le-Street (North East), Chingford (Essex), Cuckney (Nottinghamshire), Finchley (Middlesex), Henley (Home Counties), Kibworth (Leicestershire), Knowle & Dorridge (Birmingham & District), Messingham (Lincolnshire), Mochdre (North Wales), New Brighton (Liverpool & District), North Devon (Devon), Northampton Saints (Northamptonshire), Ockbrook & Borrowash (Derbyshire), Oulton Park (Cheshire), Preston (Northern), Preston Nomads (Sussex), Reigate Priory (Surrey), Sully Centurions (South Wales), St Just (Cornwall), Vauxhall Mallards (East Anglia).