RSS feeds from

ECB National Club t20 news RSS

New Brighton breeze through

ECB National Club T20

New Brighton were crowned Liverpool & District winners of the inaugural Cockspur Club Twenty20 after triumphing in their finals day at Hightown.

Matthew Thompson hammered 51 off just 30 balls and Michael Hughes hit 33 not out off 20 balls in the final as the Wirral club posted 178 for six from their 20 overs against the hosts.

Hightown opener Shaun Vosloo struck a brisk 32 but his team-mates struggled in reply and they were all out for 118. Lawrence Wilson claimed 3-22 and Ashraf Nawab 3-9.

New Brighton will now progress to the area finals to take on Twenty20 champions of the Cheshire and Derbyshire Premier Leagues on Sunday August 30.

In other League finals held at the weekend, Henley qualified from the Home Counties Premier League, Northampton Saints from the Northamptonshire Cricket League and Preston from the Northern Premier Cricket League.