Wanstead win fourth title

ECB logo - small version

Rehan Hassan

Wanstead & Snaresbrook captain Rehan Hassan dives to take a fine caught and bowled en route to 4-14 from four overs

Wanstead & Snaresbrook were crowned champions for a record fourth time after sweeping all before them at the NatWest U15 National Finals Day.

The Essex-based club beat Yateley in a thrilling semi-final before cruising to a 91-run victory over Aston Rowant to lift The Harry Secombe Trophy at Kibworth.

A total of 1,766 clubs took part in this season's competition which has been graced in the past by a number of England internationals including Andrew Flintoff and James Anderson.

Under threatening clouds in the East Midlands, it was Aston Rowant who made the early running in the final as they reduced the much-fancied Wanstead to 20 for two.

Highly impressive left-arm seamer Linsey Smith - one of the stars of the day - took both wickets, the second a smart stumping by Dan Matthews to remove dangerman Kishen Velani who has represented Essex second XI this season.

But Wanstead hit back through talented left-handers Rehan Hassan and Hamza Hussain who posted contrasting half-centuries.

Hassan, the team's elegant captain, displayed immaculate timing often from a mere flick of the wrists, while Hussain treated the bowling with disdain and hit two sixes, the second of which, a clip over square leg, brought up his fifty.

After both retired, it was left to Jay Williams to blundgeon some late runs as Wanstead set their opponents a challenging 140 to win.

Aston Rowant did not come close, despite some vocal encouragement from their travelling supporters.

Aron Nijjar trapped Andrew Tolson leg before in the second over and once Hassan got to work in the fifth over the game was all but over.

After impressing with the bat, the leg-spinner ripped through Aston Rowant's batting order on the way to 4-14 from four overs. His final wicket, courtesy of a stumping by the lightning quick Williams, left the batting side in dire trouble at 12 for five.

Matthews, Rafe Garrett and Cameron Harvey did their best to add some respectability to the scoreboard but their fate was sealed by Will Wade's two wickets and three run-outs.

In the third-fourth play-off, Yateley beat Notts Unity Casuals.

Wanstead Snaresbrook

A jubilant Wanstead & Snaresbrook celebrate the final wicket which brought victory at Kibworth