RSS feeds from

Non first class news RSS

LCB reward volunteers

Oscas 250

Haseeb Hameed Jim Cumbes

Haseeb Hameed receives his Young Player of the Year award from Jim Cumbes (LCCC CEO)

Lancashire Cricket Board have rewarded volunteers across the county at their inaugural annual LCB Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs) celebration dinner.

Sponsored by Daniel Thwaites and Per-Fit Windows, Old Trafford staged the event on June 12.

The OSCAs are aimed at recognising those volunteers in the recreational game of cricket who give so much of their time to the sport - without these individuals the game would not be able to survive.

The OSCAs dinner provided an ideal opportunity for LCB to thank their huge army of unsung heroes, saying thank you and celebrating their success with them.

May Barlow Jack Simmons

May Barlow receives her Special Recognition award from Jack Simmons

Winners were announced for 11 different award categories for which nominations were received and shortlisted. There was also a Special Recognition award, which was kept a secret until the night of the ceremony.

Andrew Hayhurst (LCB Director) commented: "Congratulations go to the winners and nominees of this inaugural OSCAs celebration. In Lancashire, we have thousands of people who have devoted their lives to cricket and I would personally like to thank all our volunteers in Lancashire cricket, not those just honoured this evening."

All proceeds from the evening will be invested back in to grassroots cricket across Lancashire. Special thanks from all at the LCB go to Dave Hardman, LCB Cricket Support Officer, for organising a very successful OSCAs event.

Winners of seven categories from these LCB OSCAs will go on to the NatWest OSCAs event, as automatic nominations to the National Awards organised by the ECB, held annually at Lord’s.

The seven categories include: Young Volunteer, Outside the Scorebox, Behind The Scenes, Building Partnerships, NatWest CricketForce, Leagues and Boards and Lifetime Achiever.

You can download a full list of the winners below:

LCB OSCAs 2009 - Winners (196 KB)