RSS feeds from

Minor Counties news RSS

Bucks meets Bedfordshire in opener

Minor Counties MCCA promo

Minor Counties champions Buckinghamshire will begin the defence of their title against Bedfordshire next season.

Bucks, who won the Eastern Division this year, were crowned overall winners courtesy of a 117-run victory against Cheshire in the Championship final at Slough.

They will travel to Luton for the opening three-day match of the 2010 campaign, which gets under way on June 6.

Meanwhile, Cheshire, who booked their place in this summer's final by winning the Western Division, meet Oxfordshire at Banbury in their first Championship match.

By that time the Knockout Trophy will be well under way, the opening round of one-day matches having been held on April 25.

That Sunday will see eight games, most notably reigning champions Norfolk’s home clash with Lincolnshire at Manor Park.

Staffordshire, beaten by Norfolk in a one-sided final this year, take on Northumberland at South Northumberland CC.

The top two sides from four groups will qualify for the quarter-finals of the Trophy – to be held on June 13 – with the semis set for July 11.

A date for the final has yet to be confirmed, although the showpiece of the Championship season will take place over four days from September 5-8.

MCCA Fixtures 2010 (125 KB)