RSS feeds from

Minor Counties news RSS

Cornwall and Buckinghamshire to meet in final

Minor Counties MCCA promo

Cornwall will host Buckinghamshire at Truro from September 9-12 in the final of the Minor Counties Championship.

Cornwall secured the Western Division title with a 10-wicket demolition of Wales Minor Counties, who finished bottom of the table, at Abergavenny.

Samuel Hockin’s 7-54 helped to skittle the hosts for 80 and opener Jake Libby’s 88 ensured Cornwall took a 102-run first innings lead. Four more wickets for Hockin and as many for Shakeel Ahmed then limited Wales Minor Counties to 128 and the visitors easily knocked off 27 for victory.

Buckinghamshire’s draw with Northumberland at Jesmond earned them the Eastern Division crown.

Hasan Adnan

Hassan Adnan's second-innings century aided Suffolk's 156-run defeat of Lincolnshire, which earned them fifth place in the Eastern Division

Buckinghamshire opener Fahim Qureshi’s 110 aided 282 in reply to 268 and there was only time for the hosts to reach 216 for five in their second innings.

Cambridgeshire came second behind Buckinghamshire with victory over Staffordshire by 34 runs in a low-scoring game at Cannock.

Leading on first innings by 25 thanks in part to Paul McMahon’s 6-56, Cambridgeshire were dismissed for 92 with Paul Byrne returning a stunning 6-13 from 16 overs. With Staffordshire chasing 118, five more McMahon wickets proved decisive.

Norfolk finished third with a draw versus Bedfordshire in an exciting finish at Luton.

Visiting opener Sam Arthurton hit 158 and the hosts’ George Thurstance made 106 before Norfolk declared their second innings on 292 for four, setting 310 for victory. Bedfordshire subsequently reached 303 for eight.

Cumberland came fourth thanks to a draw with Hertfordshire at Sedbergh in which only three innings were possible.

Suffolk finished fifth after beating Lincolnshire by 156 runs at Ipswich, thanks principally to Hassan Adnan's second-innings 119.

Oxfordshire pipped Wiltshire to second in the Western Division with a five-wicket win at Devizes. The hosts were crucially bowled out for 129 in their second innings, leaving 161 for victory.

Shropshire ended fourth with an entertaining draw against Devon at Whitchurch. The visitors’ Richard Oliver and Trevor Anning exchanged first-innings five-fors before Shropshire were set 236 and reached 214 for eight.

Berkshire had to settle for sixth immediately behind Dorset, whom they beat by five wickets at Bournemouth despite Darren Cowley’s second-innings 125.

Cheshire drew with Herefordshire in a rain-ruined match at Chester where Khalid Sawas struck 164 for the hosts.