RSS feeds from

Minor Counties news RSS

Cheshire turn to Kettle

Minor Counties MCCA promo


Cheshire, with Jonny Kettle added to the squad, seek to maintain their winning start to the season when they meet Staffordshire

Cheshire have made one change to their squad for Sunday's MCCA Knockout Trophy trip to Staffordshire.

Six-wicket winners at home to Cumberland in their opening 50-over match last weekend, Cheshire have added opening batsman Jonny Kettle to the 12-man party in place of Louis Bentley.

All-rounder Danny Berry missed out last weekend as the hosts opted to play one spinner, but he could come into contention this weekend depending on conditions at Knypersley CC on Sunday.

Cheshire captain Andy Hall knows his team face a tough test against a side eager to bounce back from a three-wicket defeat to last season's Trophy winners Shropshire in their opening outing of 2011.

“We've had a good start to the season, but this is going to be a tough game for us,” predicted Hall.

“Staffordshire are a strong side, but as long as we perform to the level we're capable of we fancy our chances of beating them.

“We're all looking forward to the match. Another win would really put us on the road to qualifying for the quarter-finals.

“I've said all along that we probably need to win three of four matches to make sure we qualify - and this match is another good challenge for us.”

Hall led from the front as Cheshire paced the start to their new season to perfection, winning with five balls to spare against Cumberland at Neston CC.

With difficult fixtures coming up against Northumberland on May 15 and Shropshire on May 29, Hall is eyeing a win that could take Cheshire top of Group One.

“Everyone is excited about the new season; there's a good feeling amongst the players,” he added.

“There's a great incentive to do well in this competition with a Lord’s final at the end of it, so we'll be giving everything to try and get there.”
Cheshire squad: Andy Hall (captain), Adam Worrall (wicketkeeper), Jonny Kettle, Danny Berry, Lee Dixon, James Duffy, Warren Goodwin, Richard Logan, Adam Syddall, James Warrington, Richard Wilkinson, Danny Woods.