RSS feeds from

Minor Counties news RSS

Cheshire without Duffy for final

Minor Counties MCCA promo

James Duffy

Work commitments will keep James Duffy out of the MCCA Championship final at Slough CC © David Bailey

Cheshire batsman James Duffy will miss the Minor Counties Championship final against Buckinghamshire.

The left-hander has recently started a new job and work commitments prevent him from taking part in the showpiece event of the season at Slough CC, which starts on Sunday.

All-rounder Chris Finegan replaces Duffy as Cheshire chase a second championship crown in three years.

"Duffers has just started a new job at Bramhall High School, he's training to be a teacher and unfortunately he couldn't get the time off for the match," revealed Cheshire skipper Andy Hall.

"It's a real shame because he's a great player and he's done well for this season. We're going to miss him in the field as well. He's probably our best fielder and he's always really enthusiastic and keeps us going.

"He's disappointed, of course, but we respect his decision because he's thinking about his career and he's got to look to the future.

"But we've managed to bring Chris in - and he's done well at this level for us. It was good that we could bring somebody in with his experience for the match."

Cheshire were hoping to recall Chris Tipper, but the all-rounder is due to play for Lancashire 2nd XI at the same time as the final.

"Chris isn't available and I had a worry that Wish [Jason Whittaker] might not be able to get time off work, but he's available for us, so we've only made one change from our last match," added Hall.

"It's a big occasion for the county and all the players are looking forward to the final, including me. We want to give a good account of ourselves and finish the season on a high note."

Cheshire last reached the championship final in 2007 when they beat Northumberland by an innings and four runs at Jesmond CC.

Cheshire team: Andy Hall (captain), David Hurst, Warren Goodwin, Ben Spendlove, Nathan Dumelow, Jason Whittaker, Matthew Dawson (wicketkeeper), Daniel Berry, Adam Syddall, Rick Moore, Chris Finegan.