RSS feeds from

ECB Premier Leagues news RSS

Captain Dobson steers Welbeck to win

ECB logo - small version

Poor weather from earlier in the season made a grim return to the Nottinghamshire Premier League making only four games possible but they included an impressive six wicket win for lowly Welbeck at the home of the champions Clifton Oval.

Welbeck have spent the season trying to find a winning formula to emulate their red-hot start to the 2011 campaign but could not buy a win until last week and now they have two.

Martyn Dobson won the toss for the visitors and elected to field first and his bowlers warmed to their task on a chilly day and dismissed the champions for 210 in the final over.

Notts Welbeck Martyn Dobson

Martyn Dobson led from the front

Robert French starred with the ball taking 4-38 with Kyle Francis continuing his excellent form with 3-50. Notts’ Luke Fletcher was the leading Clifton batter with 93 from 90 balls with 11 fours and 4 sixes.

Dobson and Jonny Loates have been the in-form batsmen and they combined to build a winning score of 211 for four in 47.2 overs, with their stand of 101 for the third wicket being the crucial one. Dobson ended unbeaten on 89 and Loates was out for 49.

The win moves Welbeck out of the bottom two and their place is taken by Wollaton who had a losing draw at home to Papplewick. The visitors won the toss and batted first for 266 for five.

Mark Nelson was the star with 119 from 130 balls (10 fours and 4 sixes) and he got solid support from skipper Mat Dowman with 32.

In reply, the Wollaton batting unit again showed some frailty and they were eventually left hanging on for a draw when nine down with the score 182.

Ben Smith (33) and Tim Young (56) stood out from the rest and Dane Straw did his best to win the game for Papplewick with 6-49 from 15 overs.

The Academy remain at the top of the table but their lead is now only five points after they too hung on for a draw after being outplayed by Caythorpe at Lady Bay.

With rain forecast and damp conditions, Andrew Parkin-Coates won the toss and invited the visitors to bat first and at 66 for six this seemed like a solid decision. But sensible batting by the Caythorpe lower order got them to the respectable score of 185 for eight at tea.

Jim Hemmings led the rear-guard action with 37 with only Josh Mierkalns of the specialist batters making an impact earlier with 33.

Bobby Gamble was the leading county bowler with figures of 3-19 with at least one straightforward chance missed off him.

This may have seemed a meagre target to such a talented batting line-up but a combination of poor shot selection and tight bowling saw them collapse to 90 for eight before their lower order rescued a draw for them finishing on 145 for eight.

Brett Hutton top scored with 34 not out with Usman Muzaffar leading the Caythorpe bowlers with figures of 4-38.

The final game had a delayed start with the match reduced to 70 overs between Cuckney and West Indian Cavaliers at Langwith Lane.

Cuckney won the toss and on a bowler-friendly surface skittled the Cavs stellar line-up for 123 in 33.4 overs with wickets for Richard Stroh (3-32), Ian Parkin (3-27) and Will Butler (3-35).

Usman Afzaal (32) and Steve Atkinson (30) were the only Cavaliers batsmen to get to grips with the conditions.

The result could have gone either way as both teams fought hard for the victory and Cuckney ended their innings on 120 for nine with bowler Luke Wood doing his best to get them over the line with an unbeaten 31.