RSS feeds from

ECB Premier Leagues news RSS

Champions Ockbrook beaten by new boys Denby

ECB logo - small version

Ockbrook & Borrowash were given an early season wake up call in the opening round of the 2012 Beechwood MG Derbyshire Premier Cricket League.

The reigning champions were overhauled by Denby, playing their first fixture in the league after being promoted.

Denby's total of 160 looked modest, captain Joe Greenhalgh admitted afterwards, though there was a dogged contribution from opener Alexander Eyre who made 41 from 87 balls and shared a vital partnership of 65 with Sunil Bhatt.

Then a breezy innings from South African Letlotlo Selese who only arrived in the UK two days previously. Both contributions proved to be fertile pickings for this new outfit.

Ockbrook started leaking wickets almost immediately in reply with Paul Allen having Jonny Guthrie trapped leg before with the last ball of his second over and Matt Lineker bowled the first ball of his next.

But from there, defences were shored up and Ockbrook reached 122 for six needing 39 with stacks of overs remaining.

Allen returned and the game swung back in Denby's favour especially when former Derbyshire stalwart Kevin Dean was bowled which left Ockbrook staring down the barrel on 141 for eight.

Kevin Dean

Kevin Dean powerless to rescue Ockbrook

Matt Cassar decided the only way was convex so curved Greenhalgh's spin high to deep midwicket where he was caught to give Denby victory by 14 runs.

In another surprising result, a superb unbeaten 100 from new-recruit Paul Burdett, in league with Michael Deane, saw Chesterfield recover from a very shaky 112 for eight to overhaul Sandiacre’s total of 185.

Swarkestone made a winning start by thrashing Rolls Royce Leisure who were skittled out for 64 and Dunstall got the better of Ticknall in a draw at The Grange.

Lullington Park and Quarndon were washed out at the halfway point of their match at Edingale Lane but Spondon’s match at home to A & B was an early morning casualty.