Cuckney clinch title

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Cuckney lifted the 2012 Nottinghamshire Premier League title and secured their position as the number one club in the county having already won the T20 title back in July.

They clinched the title with a nervy three wicket win at home against Wollaton in a result that also condemned their opponents to relegation from the league.

Cuckney Champions

Cuckney are 2012 Notts Premier League Champions

Home skipper Will Butler won the toss and opted to field first and dismissed Wollaton for 180 in exactly 50 overs.

Ian Dodd and James Godrich continued their recent good form with 38 and 31 respectively but the fact that several batsmen made a start but did not kick on to a major score summed up their season.

Cuckney spinner Ian Parkin has had a fine campaign and finished with figures of 5-37 from 11 overs. Any ideas that Cuckney could coast to an easy victory were dashed by a Wollaton attack that fought desperately to maintain their position in the top flight and they too had a spinner in good form.

Alex King remarkably returned the same figures as Parkin (5-37) as the champions lost seven wickets in achieving their target, which they did in exactly 46 overs to spark celebrations at Langwith Road.

The Nottinghamshire Academy were the only other side that could win the title if Cuckney failed and they played out a remarkable game at Lady Bay against the West Indian Cavaliers.

The visitors batted first and closed on 193 for eight in their 50 overs with Dominic Williamson hitting 45 and Farhan Shaukat 43 not out.

There were two wickets each for George Bacon, Brett Hutton and Scott Elstone. The county side made a promising start with Hassan Azad (35) and Tom Rowe (55) putting on 89 at the top of the order and though they lost regular wickets, they needed just 13 from the last 20 balls with five wickets in hand.

But the Cavs used all their experience to restrict the scoring with Usman Afzaal taking 4-72 and only four were required from the last over. Shaukat managed to restrict the Academy to just three so the game was tied with the scores equal. This result secures the runner-up spot for the Notts side and the Cavaliers end up in third.

Papplewick were the side battling with Wollaton to avoid the drop but they made sure of remaining in the league with a comprehensive eight wicket home win over the other relegated side, Worksop.

The visitors batted first and battled to 174 for eight in their 50 overs with skipper Luke Ambrose leading from the front with 58 and Jim Rhodes claiming figures of 3-24.

Papplewick made haste in their reply and rushed to a win in 27 overs with Warren Nel (45) and Eamonn Vines (31) getting the run chase going and Mark Nelson seeing them across the line with an unbeaten 54.

Caythorpe secured fourth spot when they had the best of a draw at home against Mansfield Hosiery Mills. The home side finished two runs short of maximum batting bonus points when they closed on 223 for four, Darren Bicknell again underlining his talent with an unbeaten 100 from 112 balls, supported by James Hawley’s 57.

The Millers were never quite in the hunt and finished on 185 for eight with Gareth Curtis (57), Tom New (37) and Matt New (31) making key contributions and Jim Hindson taking 3-59.

Kimberley end in fifth after a swift 115 run win against Welbeck at home. The home team struck 217 for eight in their 50 over allocation with runs for Paldip Sidhu (63), Dominic Brown (55) and skipper Sam Ogrizovic (55 not out) with Jonathan Ball leading the Colliers attack with three wickets for 52.

But the game had a real end of season feel about as the visitors subsided for just 102 in thirty overs with Akhil Patel starring with 6-21 and Chris Glover supporting with 3-21.

The final game between Plumtree and Clifton was for seventh spot; the home side batted first and were dismissed for 179 in the 42nd over with Matt Wood (67) and Neil Edwards (52) putting 115 for the third wicket and Adam Shepherd clinching 5-55 and Dan Footitt 3-44.

Clifton were cruising towards a comfortable win on 119 for two thanks to 45 from Martin Weightman and 52 from Scott McNeill. But Edwards’ influence on the Plumtree season was not done as he stepped up and took 5-48 from his 15 over spell as the visitors collapsed 166 for eight with support from Matt Milnes with 3-41.

The 2012 champions saw out the win but will be disappointed to have ended up in the bottom half of the table.