Fleetwood complete double

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Fleetwood won the Furness Building Society Northern Premier Cricket League title after defeating Preston by 54 runs at Windsor Park.

The succcess caps off a memorable season for Mat Clarks team who complete a league and cup double, a remarkable feat considering that they were near the bottom of the league throughout the 2011 campaign.

On what was promised to be a final day of high drama, there were many possibilites still open as Fleetwood, Barrow and Leyland were all in contention for the title.

Prior to Fleetwood's deciding game it was announced that Lancashire's Tom Smith would deputise as sub professional which was seen as a fantastic aquisition in such a crucial encounter.

Fleetwood batted first against a Preston side that were without Lukman Vahaluwala, and despite getting off to a slow start, Smith showed his class as he steadied the ship with a top scoring 62 off 95 balls.

Tom Smith

Fleetwood called on Tom Smith to boost title chances

A performance which helped Fleetwood to declare in the 47th over on 195 for seven. Adam Sharrocks' unbeaten 51 off 46 provided another crucial element to the first innings.

Preston gave it their all as sub professional Chris Holt and Soaib Dukanwala helped themselves to three wickets a piece.

With 195 to defend, Fleetwood were in control as Mike Clinnings 5-25 and Tom Smiths 4-52, helped Fleetwood to Northern League glory as Preston were all out for 141 in 38.2 overs. Soaib Dukanwala offering the main resistance with 45 off 53 balls.

Barrow pulled out all the stops in acquiring the services of Durham and Englands Ben Stokes for their game with Morecambe and finished their season as runners up after defeating them by three wickets at Ernest Pass.

Barrow had to beat Morecambe and either hope Fleetwood slip up or that the team from Ernest Pass pick up 15 points, hoping that Fleetwood could only manage 12 points.

However after losing the toss, going for the 15 points was out of the question as Morecambe put themselves in.

Ben Stokes

Barrow called up Ben Stokes and finished second

Barrow were pretty much on top as they bowled the visitors out for 134 in 48.2 overs, Patrick Allingtons impressive spell of 5-61 covering for the absence of Daryl Wearing. Stokes was in good form with 3-46.

Morecambe put up a fight with James Laws 35 off 68 leading to a mini recovery as they posted a below par total.

In reply Barrow got over the line reaching 135 for seven in 35.1 overs with Ryan Browns 35 off 57 balls and 33 off 39 by Jon Miles saw the hosts home!

At the end of the game Chris D'leny announced his retirement from the game, due to injury.

Leylands outside chances of winning the league were extinguished as Netherfield defeated them by four wickets at Parkside Road.

The game started late due to a bad accident on the motorway which delayed the Leyland players. That coupled with a wet wicket, meant that the game was reduced to 46 overs aside.

Netherfield impressed ending a difficult season, for what was Ben Haddricks final game for the club and could have also been the last match of Marc Hadwins illustrious career.

The visitors winning the toss were bowled out for 127, Luis Reece the main runmaker with 62 off 110 balls. Marc Hadwin potentially signing off his career with an impressive spell of 5-32.

In reply Netherfield reached 132 for six in 37.5 overs, Marc Brown with a top scoring 28 off 61 and Chris Parry with 22 off 45 balls.

Mitchell Claydon hit two big sixes to seal a win for Netherfield who finish fifth in the table.

Atiq Uz Zamans last game for St Annes ended in dissapointment as his side had to make do with a losing draw in their league encounter with Kendal.

Kendal on the other hand will be pleased with how their season has gone, winning the Readers Cup and breaking into the top 3 is a fantastic acheivement for Chris Miller and his team.

Batting first Kendal were impressive as they posted a score of 218 for five off 50 overs. sub professional Richard Waite with a top scoring 98. Jack White also impressing with 43. Matthew Grinley finished with 3-36.

St Annes replied reaching 174 for six, Nathan Bolus with an unbeaten 93,the wickets shared with Jack White taking 2-33. Stu Parkin, Chris Miller and Richard Waite taking one wicket each.

Darwen defeated Blackpool by 22 runs at Stanley Park, Darwen all out for 139, Richard Gleeson taking 5-32.

Blackpool were all out for 117, Neil Cordingley with 5-28 and Shaun De Kock with 5-32, the game being won in 50.3 overs.

The game between Lancaster and Carnforth was abandoned due to an unfit playing surface with Lancaster finishing 10th and Carnforth second from bottom on 97 points