Fleetwood knock over Barrow

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Fleetwood defeated Barrow to go three points clear at the top of Furness Building Society Northern Premier Cricket League in the battle of the top two at Broadwater.

The hosts went into the game on the back of their TWP Wealth Twenty20 finals day success the previous weekend, and faced league leaders Barrow who had come off a good win over St Annes last week.

Mat Clark's team won the crucial toss, and opted to but Barrow in on what was a dry start to the afternoon.

Good bowling and fielding was on display by the hosts, restricting the league leaders to a score of 121 for eight. The rain disrupted the game, reducing it from 50 over aside contest to a 39 overs game.

The key bowler for Fleetwood was Sam Bell who returned figures of 5-40, their were also two wickets for Adam Parker.

Barrows main response came through Greg Reynolds (32) and Daryl Wearing, (32 off 22 balls). The batting of Reynolds and Wearing helped the visitors to the score after struggling at one stage on 98 for eight.

With a good total to chase, Fleetwood were made to work hard for their win, with Daryl Wearing taking 4-24.

However crucial runs throughout the team, with Dean Bell (25), Shaun Liebisch (23) and Adam Sharrocks (26), helped the hosts stay on track.

Eventually Fleetwood reached 122 for seven in 33.2 overs, with Chris Stanhope and Mat Clark seeing the hosts home to what is a huge win in the context of the season.

Leyland move up to third in the table after defeating a spirited Carnforth side by five wickets at Lodge Quarry.

With the visitors title aspirations suffering setback over the past few weeks, getting back on track was the key for David Makinson's team.

Carnforth opted to put themselves in after winning the toss, and made 173 for eight in another rain affected game. The rain coming into play twice, with the game finally reduced to 47 over's aside.

The main runs coming from Ryan Nelson who hit 39 off 90 balls,Adam Coweperthwaite also contributing with an unbeaten 27 off 39.


Brett Pelser chipped in with 1-30

Leyland's main bowler was Andrew Makinson with figures of 3-29, David Fisher (1-21), Brett Pelser (1-30), Dale Jones (1-15) and Luis Reece (1-63) also contributing.

The visitors were struggling in their reply on 48-4, with Darren Nelson doing the damage with figures of 3-75.

However Danny Lamb steadied the nerves hitting a crucial 65 off 105 balls, before falling to Toby Bulcock.

Andrew Makinson batting at number 6 top scored with an unbeaten knock of 66 with both Makinson and Lamb forming a commanding partnership as Leyland saw the game home in 42.2 overs reaching 175 for eight.

Netherfield came away from Lune Road with a winning draw in a rain affected encounter with Lancaster. For Netherfield it was all about putting an end to their bad run of form and trying to regain some momentum.

Lancaster put Netherfield in with the visitors reaching 166 for four in a rain reduced encounter, a first wicket partnership of 102 between Marc Brown (44 off 74) and Chris Williams (55 off 91) got them to 102.

The rain and thunder came into play disrupting the innings, when they came back out Cobus Pienaar finished unbeaten on 36 with Lancaster Professional Timycen Maruma taking 3-41.

In the reply Lancaster reached 154 for seven, Timycen Maruma hitting an unbeaten 73 off 92 balls. However wickets from Cobus Pienaar (2-32), Marc Hadwin (2-39) and Chris Williams (2-41), gave the visitors a sniff of victory.

But with the lost overs, Lancaster got a losing draw, but for Netherfield an improved performance which they can build on for the rest of the season.

Morecambe defeated Darwen by 59 runs at Birch Hall, Lewis Edge's team posting a competitive score of 150 for nine, Umar Amin with an unbeaten 66 off 80 balls. Niall Burke the best bowler with figures of 3-34.

In reply Darwen were all out for 91 in 34.2 overs, Umar Amin 5-35 and Richard Cupit 5-27, ripping through the hosts line up.

In a rain affected game at Stanley Park, the first innings reduced to 45 overs, with the second innings reduced to 39 overs.
Blackpool took a winning draw, with professional Dale Deeb hitting a top score of 52 off 88 balls, as the hosts made 135 for eight.

Chris Harty took 4-55, with Billy Smith (2-45) and Keiran McCullagh (1-25), also contributing.

Chorley made 89 for four in reply off 39 overs, but with the lost overs a draw was always going to be the likely outcome. Chorley's Stuart Naden (25 off 78) and Iain Critchley (25 off 68 balls) the main contributers.

St Annes defeated Preston by four wickets at Vernon Road after Preston were dismissed for 101 from 39.2 overs, Dinuka Hettiarachchi taking 6-33, with Peter Cummings taking 3-47. Lukman Vahaluwala top scored with 45 off 72.

In reply St Annes reached 102 for six in 31.4 overs, Atiq Uz Zaman top scoring with 33. Lukman Vahaluwala taking 5-47. Duncan Whalley finished unbeaten on 15 and Kushan Mirando on 19 as they saw the game safely home.