RSS feeds from

ECB Premier Leagues news RSS

Giddins and Mees see Bromley home

ECB logo - small version

Many congratulations to Bromley who retained their Shepherd Neame Kent Premier title on Saturday with a comfortable win over relegated Gore Court.

Bromley are worthy champions and continued their unbeaten run in the win-lose format since it began in 2009.

Gore Court were unable to offer much resistance as Tom Mees (5-9) and Ed Giddins (3-29) tore through their batting and had them all back in the hutch for 81.

James Goodman raced to an unbeaten 53 as Bromley cruised to the title with a nine-wicket victory in just the 15th over.

At the other end of the table Tunbridge Wells gained a vital win over eighth placed Lordswood to move 14 points ahead of them, level with Sevenoaks Vine, leaving Lordswood with much work to do next weekend.

Lordswood travel to Gore Court and Tunbridge Wells host Sevenoaks Vine on the closing day next Saturday in two major battles.

In a match reduced to 40 overs a side due to early damp conditions, Lordswood invited Tunbridge Wells to bat and they made steady progress with Will Stickler 45 not out, Evert Bekker 42, Mark Smith 35 and Tom Elliott 34 the main contributors as the closed on 188 for five.

After a shaky start Lyndon Lockhart 38 and Chris Piesley 30 began to repair the damage but steady bowling from Chris Fenwick who took 3-25 and Chris Lawrence (3-28) checked their progress as they were bowled out for 138 in the 36th over.

Only one further match reached its full conclusion when, at the Vine, the Sevenoaks club were defeated by 56 runs by The Mote.

Invited to bat, The Mote made steady progress, James Hodgson leading the way with 60 supported by Caspian Paget unbeaten on 45 and Matthew White 36 as they moved along to 219 for seven at the close.

Tom Parsons took 4-34 and James Hodgson 3-33 as the Vines batting stuttered. Only Michael Barber with 56, Ollie Howick 31 and Alex Rayner 29 reached double figures as they slid to 163 all out.

The game at Bexley was sadly interrupted by weather with six overs remaining at intriguing part of the contest. When the rain came Hartley required 27 runs to win with four wickets in hand.

Bexley reached 224 all out in one over short of their allocation, with Gavin Pointer 77 and Jack Bell 44 the leading batsmen, and James Hockley and James Thompson both taking three wickets apiece.

In reply, Hartley seemed to have paced their chase well, Charlie Hemphrey scoring 69 and Scott Mckencnie 54 when rain forced them into an early finish.

No play commenced at Bickley Park where St Lawrence were the visitors, due to the damp conditions.