Hartley crowned 2012 Kent champions

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Hartley became Shepherd Neame Kent Premier League Champions for 2012 after their win over Sevenoaks Vine ensured they retained their Premier League title.

Less fortunate were Canterbury whose defeat at home by Lordswood sealed their destiny and they will play in Division 1 next year. They will be joined by either Tunbridge Wells or Bickley Park who are separated by just 11 points.

Tunbridge Wells entertain Blackheath next Saturday whilst Bickley Park travel to Beckenham.

On a rain affected afternoon, the game at Hartley between the two title contenders was delayed but they were able to play a 40 over match. Hartley elected to field and Ollie Howick starred with the bat for Sevenoaks Vine blasting 84 as the Vine posted a useful target of 142 for five for Hartley to chase.

Hartley succeeded in their quest, reaching the target for the loss of five wickets with an over in hand.

The only other match to produce a definitive result was down at Canterbury. Lordswood invited their hosts to bat. Canterbury began well enough, Dominic Chambers scoring 53, Tim Bishop 34 and James Lilley 41 but those apart, the Canterbury batting was poor and with Dan Masters taking 3-26 they rather meandered their way to 183 for eight.

Lyndon Lockhart paved the way for Lordswood with 47 and Matt Greenwood 50 not out and Chris Piesley also unbeaten with 32 saw them comfortably home in the 40th over.

The remaining three matches were all incomplete. The highlight was an unbeaten 134 by Bromley’s Wayne Morgan as they posted 235 for three for Tunbridge Wells to chase the rain ending the game with them on 75 for four, Alex Williams scoring 47.

Faisal Shahid scored 67 for Blackheath as they were bowled out for 202 by Beckenham, the rain preventing any further play. A similar outcome at Bickley Park where Bexley reached 224 for six at tea, Greg Bane 74 and George Wells 54 when the heavens opened, concluding another wet Saturday.