New champions Bromley crash to Hartley

ECB logo - small version

Recently crowned Shepherd Neame Kent Premier League champions Bromley lost their first win/lose game since the start of 2009 at the hands of a determined Hartley.

Bromley elected to bat but for once their strong batting line up failed against a tidy bowling performance from Hartley.

Only Alan Wells with 60 made much impact as James Thompson 3-31 headed the Hartley attack with Charlie Hemphrey, Dan Redwood and Rhys Morgan all taking two each as Bromley were bowled out for a disappointing 167 in 39 overs.

Scott McKechnie replied with an unbeaten 97 and Sam Billings 47 not out as Hartley romped home to win by nine wickets with 18 overs to spare.

A second wicket partnership of 172 between Fabian Cowdrey and Michael Barber helped Sevenoaks Vine retain their Premier status for 2011 and the four points secured by Tunbridge Wells also ensured they will be in the mix next season.

Electing to bat after the early loss of Chris Hammond, Barber joined Cowdrey, son of former England and Kent captain Chris. Cowdrey worked his way to his maiden Premier century, finally departing for 105 with the score on 209.

Barber completed his century and remained unbeaten on 112 at the close of the 50 overs with the Vine total on 253 for four.

The loss of three early wickets did not assist the Tunbridge Wells reply but Mark Smith, 61, then joined Leighton Morgan, 54.

Morgan departed to leave the score at 78 for four and although Will Stickler added a useful 55 Tunbridge Wells ended 38 runs short. Ed Goodworth took 3-29 for the Vine.

Despite a victory over Gore Court, Lordswood are relegated to Division 1, their fate sealed by a points deduction earlier in the week though that fate would in any event have been sealed when Tunbridge Wells picked up their fourth point against the Vine.

Lordswood invited their hosts to bat and the Gore Court innings was built around an unbeaten 80 by Karl Pearson, Phil Edwards chipping in with 30 but they could only reach 166 for six from their 50 against a tight Lordwood attack.

Matt Greenwood top scored for Lordswood with 58 and Peter Stock scored 31 as they reached their target with four wickets in hand in the 33rd over.

St Lawrence ended the season with another good run chase against Bexley at Highland Court.

Bexley elected to bat and runs were soon flowing with Jibran Khan top scoring with 61, well supported by George Wells 52 and Sandeep Bains 41 as they worked their way to a useful 274 when they were all out in the 49th over.

Alistair Neale 4-40 and Dan Stickels 3-22 prevented a much higher total. St Lawrence by and large have chased well this year and this was to be no exception.

Dominic Chambers 37 and Dan Stickels 59 got off to a good start and were well supported thereafter by Paul Dixey with 89 and Lewis Jenkins 39 as St Lawrence raced home to win by six wickets with six overs in hand. St Lawrence end in third place for the season.

The Mote end in a creditable fourth place in their first season back in the Premier Division but could not end in winning ways against Bickley Park. Choosing to bat first at Mote Park, the home side were restricted to 221 for eight with Tom Harvey 56 and James Hodgson 77 the main contributors. Richard Horner finished the season well with 5-39.

A well paced reply from Bickley Park, led by 76 from Ben Fulton with Warren Lee and Phil Browning chipping in 37 and 32 respectively, saw Bickley safely home with four wickets in hand.

Gore Court and Lordswood both dropped from the Premier League to be replaced by Sibton Park, for their first ever taste of Premier cricket, who won Division 1 and Blackheath who were runners-up.