RSS feeds from

All news RSS

Vettori boost for Black Caps

Ecb Logo Gutter Icon 135x160

Keep up to date with all that's new around the world - read match reports and more from every international played

Daniel Vettori will be available for the World Twenty20 after coming out of retirement in the game's shortest form.

The former Black Caps skipper has played 28 Twenty20 internationals, the last of which came against Sri Lanka in May 2010.

He retired from both limited-overs formats after the 2011 World Cup, but continued to play in the shorter forms domestically at home and overseas.

Daniel Vettori

Vettori, who retired from both international one-day formats in 2011, has made himself available again for New Zealand for this September's World T20 in the spin-friendly conditions of Sri Lanka

Vettori has made the decision with the sprint format showpiece just three months away.

Meanwhile, fast bowler Mark Gillespie has missed out on a national contract despite being New Zealand's leading wicket-taker in their most recent Test series.

Gillespie returned to international cricket in March and rewarded the selectors by collecting 11 wickets in the rubber against South Africa.

Jesse Ryder was another player to miss out after he agreed to avoid a national contract last month at his routine yearly review, a process every signed-up New Zealand player goes through. Other men who lost their existing deals were Hamish Bennett, who missed all of last season due to back surgery, Neil Broom, Andy McKay, Luke Woodcock and Reece Young.

Dean Brownlie, Doug Bracewell, Andrew Ellis, Tarun Nethula and Kruger van Wyk have signed for the first time, while one-day specialist James Franklin has regained his deal after being cut last year.

The players who missed out will now have to wait for major association contracts, which will be announced on July 22.

New Zealand contracted players for 2012-13:

Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Andrew Ellis, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kruger van Wyk, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.