RSS feeds from

Women's news RSS

Australia name Women's Ashes party

Follow England women's progress on - click here for exclusive interviews and videos, latest news, match reports and more

Australia have announced a 15-strong squad, captained by Jodie Fields, for the Women’s Ashes in England this August.

Wicketkeeper Fields, 28, led Australia to victory in last year’s Women’s World Twenty20 and this year’s Women’s World Cup. She was also skipper last time Australia played a Test in England, during July 2009 when a draw saw the hosts retain the Ashes. Fields did not feature when Australia, now ranked number one in Tests, regained the urn in January 2011.

Jodie Fields

Jodie Fields, pictured today outside the Sydney Opera House, will lead Australia in the Women's Ashes for the first time a multi-format contest

For the first time the Women’s Ashes will be decided by a new format of one Test, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals, with the combined results determining the winner. The Test is worth six points and each of the limited-overs matches two.

Sarah Elliott will be with the squad for just the Test, at Wormsley from August 11-14, after which Jemma Barsby will join the party in a development role ahead of the ODIs and T20s that run from August 20-31.

Australia women’s national selection panel chair Julie Savage said: "The WNSP has selected a squad of 15 to contest the Women's Ashes series in England in August.

“Sarah Elliott has been included for the Test match and will fly home at the conclusion of the Test. Jemma Barsby will join the squad at the conclusion of the Test match to gain valuable touring and training experience, with a view of accelerating her development.

"This is a very important series. Australia currently hold the number-one ranking in all formats and England will be extremely motivated to change the status quo."

Australia squad: Jodie Fields (captain), Alex Blackwell (vice-captain), Jess Cameron, Sarah Coyte, Sarah Elliott (Test only), Holly Ferling, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Julie Hunter, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani. Jemma Barsby will join the squad after the Test in a development role.