RSS feeds from

Womens’ news RSS

Schedule revealed for England defence

Follow England women's progress on - click here for exclusive interviews and videos, latest news, match reports and more

England will kick off their Women’s World Cup defence against Sri Lanka on February 2.

Charlotte Edwards’ side, looking to defend the crown won in Australia three years ago, have been drawn alongside hosts India, West Indies and Sri Lanka in Group A.

Charlotte Edwards

Charlotte Edwards et al will begin their task of trying to keep hold of the World Cup against Sri Lanka on February 2 at the Wankhede Stadium

They will tackle the latter on the aforementioned date at the Wankhede Stadium, take on India in the same venue two days later before facing West Indies at Cricket Club of India on February 6.

The tournament gets under way at the Wankhede Stadium on January 31, when India battle it out with West Indies.

Upon the announcement of the schedule, ICC president Alan Isaac said: “The ICC Women's World Cup is the pinnacle of women's cricket and to have India hosting the top eight women's sides in the one-day format is a real boost to women's cricket in this part of the world.

“This will be the third time that India has staged the Women's World Cup but this could be by far the most significant. I feel that we are on the verge of a massive sea change in the women's game and where better for that to take place than in the great city of Mumbai.”

Tournament schedule:

Group A - England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4)
Group B - Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4)

Warm-up matches:

Jan 28 - England v Pakistan, Wankhede Stadium; India v South Africa, BKC; West Indies v Australia, CCI; New Zealand v Sri Lanka, MIG
Jan 29 - India v Australia, Wankhede Stadium; West Indies v Pakistan, BKC
Jan 30 - Sri Lanka v South Africa, CCI; England v New Zealand, DY Patil

Tournament proper:

Group Stage

Jan 31 - India v West Indies (D/N), Wankhede Stadium; Australia v Pakistan, BKC
Feb 1 - New Zealand v South Africa (D/N), Wankhede Stadium
Feb 2 - England v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium
Feb 3 - New Zealand v Pakistan, BKC; Australia v South Africa, CCI
Feb 4 - India v England, Wankhede Stadium; Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG
Feb 5 - Pakistan v South Africa, BKC; Australia v New Zealand (D/N), DY Patil
Feb 6 - India v Sri Lanka, Wankhede Stadium; England v West Indies (D/N), CCI
Feb 7 - Rest day
Feb 8 - Rest day

Super Sixes & Final

Provided they qualify, each of the top three teams will retain their ranking from the group stage through to the Super Sixes, regardless of their finishing position in the group. For example, England will be ranked A1 whether they finish first, second or third at the end of the group stage. If the fourth ranked team in a group qualifies for the Super Six stage, they will adopt the ranking of the team that they have replaced. For example if Sri Lanka qualifies at the expense of England, Sri Lanka would follow the fixtures for A1 in the Super Six stage.

Feb 9 - A2 v B2 (D/N), Wankhede Stadium; A3 v B3, BKC; A1 v B1 (D/N), CCI; A4 v B4 (7th v 8th Play Off), MIG
Feb 10 - Reserve Day
Feb 11 - A3 v B2, BKC; A2 v B1 (D/N), CCI; A1 v B3, DY Patil
Feb 12 - Reserve Day
Feb 13 - A3 v B1, Wankhede Stadium; A1 v B2, BKC; A2 v B3, CCI
Feb 14 - Reserve Day
Feb 15 - 5th v 6th Play Off, BKC; 3rd v 4th Play Off, CCI
Feb 16 - Reserve Day
Feb 17 - Final (D/N), CCI

D/N = Day/night fixture
CCI = Cricket Club of India
MIG = Middle Income Group Ground
BKC = Bandra Kurla Complex

All day matches begin at 0900 while day/night fixtures begin at 1430 India time.