England quintet make World Cup XI

Laura Marsh

Chief selector Belinda Clark picked out spinner Laura Marsh for special praise

Five of England’s World Cup winners have been named in the team of the tournament, including captain Charlotte Edwards - to lead the side - and player of the touranment Claire Taylor.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sarah Taylor, seamer Katherine Brunt and off-spinner Laura Marsh are the other three included in the World XI, following England’s four-wicket victory against New Zealand yesterday’s the final.

The quintet will be presented with commemorative caps to mark their selection along with the other six players chosen.

Former Australia captain Belinda Clark, who led the selection panel, said: “It has been a very difficult decision to select the team of the tournament as there were some very strong performances throughout the event.

“We had a range of people around the table and quite heated debate because the performances during this tournament have been outstanding in a lot of cases but also quite even and this is what made it difficult.

“There are a lot of people who would probably feel a little bit aggrieved I suppose at missing out with some fine performances.”

Clark singled out the tournament's leading wicket-taker Marsh, adding: “What was important in this tournament was that spin bowlers had dominated.

"Obviously, we needed to pick a balanced bowling attack and have just gone with two spinners with finger spinner Laura Marsh and wrist spinner Priyanka Roy, and also knowing Shelley Nitschke has also been selected on top of the order who is also a left-arm orthodox spinner.

“So, we have selected the spinning combination we think thought would work well together in the team. But there have been some outstanding performances in that area and a whole range of spinners who have taken wickets could have easily been squeezed in the team.”

World Cup team of the tournament:

Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
Shelley Nitschke (Australia)
Claire Taylor (England)
Mithali Raj (India)
Charlotte Edwards (England, captain)
Kate Pulford (New Zealand)
Sarah Taylor (England, wicketkeeper)
Amita Sharma (India)
Katherine Brunt (England)
Priyanka Roy (India)
Laura Marsh (England)