Gunn action cleared by ICC

Follow England women's progress on - click here for exclusive interviews and videos, latest news, match reports and more

The International Cricket Council today confirmed that an independent analysis has found the bowling action of England women’s seamer Jenny Gunn to be legal and, as such, she can continue bowling in international cricket.

The report was submitted by Associate Professor Jacqueline Alderson, member of the ICC panel of human movement specialists at the School of Sports Science, Exercise and Health, University of Western Australia, Perth, yesterday.

Jenny Gunn

Jenny Gunn's bowling action has been found to be legal by human movement specialists at the University of Western Australia in Perth

The report indicates that during delivery Gunn displays a high degree of hyperextension in her bowling arm, which she is unable to control. On the basis that hyperextension does not count in the ICC extension threshold of 15 degrees. All of her deliveries recorded during testing were within the ICC tolerance threshold.

The right-armed bowler was reported by on-field umpires Derek Walker and Phil Jones at the conclusion of the first one-day international between New Zealand and England, which was played on March 1 at the Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln, New Zealand.

It is important to point out that under this process, as with all bowlers, Gunn’s action will continue to be scrutinised by match officials to ensure it remains legal. However, they will be made aware of the degree of hyperextension that is present in Gunn’s action.

Head of England women’s cricket Clare Connor said: "We are pleased that Jenny Gunn’s bowling action has once again been deemed legal.

“The coaching team are fully aware of Jenny’s hyperextension following previous analysis, and they were confident this would be reiterated through the ICC testing carried out last month.

“I hope this matter can now be laid to rest and Jenny can focus on the exciting international season ahead."

The 25-year-old previously had her action cleared during the 2009 World Cup.