Women name Ashes squad

Charlotte Edwards

England captain Charlotte Edwards © Getty Images

England women’s head coach Mark Dobson has announced the squad that will tour Australia and New Zealand in 2008.

Somerset all-rounder Stephanie Davies gets her first full international call-up while Sussex spinner Rosalie Birch has been recalled following a year's absence.

Fellow Sussex spin colleagues Holly Colvin and Charlie Russell will share the frontline spinner duties with Colvin playing on the Australia leg and Russell taking the reigns for New Zealand.

Yorkshire’s Katherine Brunt remains unavailable for selection through the injury sustained to her back in February 2007. Fellow seamer Lynsey Askew is also unavailable due to an injury to her finger.

Charlotte Edwards will lead the 15-strong squad as they contest the Ashes as well as a Twenty20 and an ODI series against Australia followed by a visit to New Zealand comprising five ODIs in eight days.

Edwards said: “This squad is a great blend of youth and experience with nine from the victorious 2005 Ashes team travelling to Australia.

“This demonstrates continuity in selection, which is excellent preparation as we look ahead to the World Cup in 2009. It’s going to be a tough tour this winter, but we definitely have the talent to challenge both Australia and New Zealand.”

Rosalie Birch

Rosalie Birch is back

Dobson added: “Steph Davies will be a great asset to the squad. She has been performing consistently in the LV County Championships and Super 4s for the past few seasons as well as for the England Development side.

“She offers us additional depth in our batting and bowling departments and it'll be a great opportunity for her to show what she can do at the next level.

“Rosalie has put in a lot of hours to improve her action and her batting and we're happy with the development. She's great to have in the squad and we're all confident she'll have a good tour.”

England squad

Charlotte Edwards, Kent (captain)
Caroline Atkins, Sussex
Rosalie Birch, Sussex
Holly Colvin, Sussex (Australia leg)
Stephanie Davies, Somerset
Lydia Greenway, Kent
Isa Guha, Berkshire
Jenny Gunn, Nottinghamshire
Laura Marsh, Sussex
Beth Morgan, Middlesex
Charlotte Russell, Sussex (New Zealand leg)
Nicola Shaw, Nottinghamshire
Jane Smit, Nottinghamshire
Claire Taylor, Berkshire
Sarah Taylor, Sussex


January 21: England depart Heathrow

January 25: Tour match v Victoria, Wesley College
January 28: Tour match v Australia U21, Albert Cricket Ground
January 30: Tour match v Australia U21, Geelong
February 1: Twenty20 v Australia, MCG
February 3: 1st ODI v v Australia, MCG
February 4: 2nd ODI v Australia, MCG
February 7: 3rd ODI v Australia, Drummoyne Oval
February 10: 4th ODI v Australia, SCG
February 11: 5th ODI v Australia, SCG
February 15-18: Test v Australia, Bradman Oval, Bowral

February 20: England depart for New Zealand

February 22: Tour match v New Zealand A, Lincoln
February 24: 1st ODI v New Zealand, Lincoln University
February 25: 2nd ODI v New Zealand, Lincoln University
February 28: 3rd ODI v New Zealand, Lincoln University
March 2: 4th ODI v New Zealand, Lincoln University
March 3: 5th ODI v New Zealand, Lincoln University

March 5: England depart New Zealand