ECB announce England women's squad

Laura Spragg

Laura Spragg has been recalled to the England squad

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the England squad for the historic NatWest Women’s International Twenty20 match, NatWest Women’s Series and npower Women’s Test Match in August.

Nottinghamshire all-rounders Nicky Shaw and Dawn Holden earn recalls to the squad following a two-year absence from international cricket, as does Yorkshire’s Laura Spragg.

England won consecutive series against South Africa in 2003/4 and their opening clash against World Cup holders, New Zealand, will be the first ever international Twenty20 match anywhere in the world at Hove on Thursday 5th August.

The five match NatWest Women’s Series will follow, with an npower Women’s Test match at Scarborough CC concluding the summer’s international matches.

Clare Connor

England and Sussex Captain, Clare Connor (pictured left), said: “We’ve got a fantastic summer of cricket to look forward to, and I’m personally delighted to be kicking off the season at my home ground.

"Last year we played our first ever floodlit match and this year will be the first ever international Twenty20.

"These matches are brilliant to be part of and we love playing in them! Plus they bring a new audience to women’s cricket”.

  • The 14 players are*:

Clare Connor (Sussex)
Charlotte Edwards (Kent)
Rosalie Birch (Sussex)
Lydia Greenway (Kent)
Isa Guha (Berkshire)
Jenny Gunn (Nottinghamshire)
Dawn Holden (Nottinghamshire)
Laura Newton (Lancashire)
Lucy Pearson (Staffordshire)
Nicky Shaw (Nottinghamshire)
Jane Smit (Nottinghamshire)
Laura Spragg (Yorkshire)
Claire Taylor (Berkshire)
Clare Taylor (Yorkshire)

England head coach, Richard Bates, said: “These are exciting times and playing New Zealand in three formats of the game will be great to watch.

"Confidence is high and I'm sure this will be a very competitive series.

"Competition for places has been strong with recent England performances making it difficult for others to push for a place, although increased competition in the Super 4's has lead to three changes.

"Nicky Shaw and Dawn Holden return to give further depth and options to our batting line up and with Laura Spragg back, all three offer variation and balance to our bowling attack."

The NatWest Women’s Series will be England’s last before they head to South Africa in February 2005 for the IWCC Women’s World Cup.

England v New Zealand in August:

The NatWest Women’s International Twenty20:
Thurs 5th August, Twenty20, Hove, Sussex CCC (5.40pm start)

The NatWest Women’s Series:
Fri 6th August, 1st ODI, Hove, Sussex CCC (11am)
Tues 10th Aug, 2nd ODI, Chelmsford, Essex CCC (3.30pm day/night)
Fri 13th Aug, 3rd ODI, Northamptonshire CCC (11am)
Sun 15th Aug, 4th ODI, Derbyshire CCC (11am)
Tues 17th Aug, 5th ODI, Old Trafford, Lancashire CCC (11am)

The npower Women’s Test Match:
Saturday 21st – Tuesday 24th August, Scarborough, Yorkshire CCC (11am)